President's Spring Address

The President’s Spring Address and transcripts (pdf) is available on the web.

President's Speech


Welcome to Chico State’s 125th Anniversary website! The site was designed by Laura Kling, art director of Chico State’s Graphic Design and Web Services, with outstanding help from Lauren Kodai, Roberta Roebuck, Samantha Poole, Dan Carter, Josh Smith, Scott Jungling, Andre Harris, and Pam Bush. For questions or comments about this site, please contact us.

The steering committee for the 125th anniversary includes Susan Anderson, Director of Alumni and Parent Relations; Rick Ellison, Vice President for University Advancement; Alan Rellaford, Creative Director; Joe Wills, Director of Public Affairs; and Sara Johnson, Administrative Support Assistant.

Frequently Asked Questions

When was Chico State founded?
Chico State was founded in 1887 following approval by the State Legislature. California wanted to open a school to train school teachers in the North State, and so Chico was chosen as the site of the Northern Branch of the State Normal School.

When did the school become Chico State?
There have been several changes to the school’s name as it’s grown over the years. The names and dates for our names are as follows:

  • Northern Branch State Normal School of California (1887-1921)
  • Chico State Teachers College (1921-1935)
  • Chico State College (1935-1972)
  • California State University, Chico (1972-today)

Why celebrate a 125th anniversary?
One hundred twenty-five is a big number in the history of California higher education. Chico State is the second oldest CSU campus (San Jose State is the oldest) and fifth oldest public college or university in the state.

What kinds of activities are planned?
Chico State plans to use existing events, such as Founders Week in the spring and Chico Experience Week in the fall, as a framework for some special activities during our anniversary year. Community and service have always been hallmarks of Chico State, and will be featured in the events planned for this year, including a Community Open House/Chico State Expo April 14 (during Founders Week) —we hope to have many Chico and North State friends at both events. In addition, we are debuting My Service Counts, a campaign for campus and community members to collectively volunteer 125,000 hours during 2012.

Will there be an emphasis on history?
Chico State’s long history of service and achievement will be noted in a number of ways during 2012, including Chico State History Minutes on KCHO, a historical display in the BMU produced by the Library Special Collections staff, and new interpretative signs for locations on campus of historical note, such as the Rose Garden and Old Hutch’s Plaza. Plus, you can expect to see lots of people dressed up in 1880s garb and enjoy 1880s music and games at the 80s Party event Oct. 6.

How can I get involved?
Come to one of the community events held on campus listed above, or visit campus during 2012 and see our new anniversary banners and exhibits. We will also have some anniversary publications during the year—check back on the 125th website for links to events and publications.

What’s the connection between Chico State’s history and the 125th anniversary logo?
The type style for the “125” is an echo of the logo used for Chico State’s centennial year in 1987. The black area at the bottom of the 125th logo is in the shape of the 8-acre cherry orchard that Chico founder John Bidwell donated to the state as the future site of the Normal School in 1887.

How do you pronounce quasquicentennial?
The word for a 125th anniversary year is pronounced kwos-kwi-sen-ten-ee-uhl.

125th Anniversary Committee

125th Advisory Committee

View larger photo

The 125th Anniversary Committee is comprised of 35 students, faculty and staff on campus and 20 community members. The committee members are:

Back row (l to r): Rick Ellison, Ralph Meuter, Daniel Etheredge, Cindy Melendrez, Jennifer Halford, Tim Colbie, Mary Wallmark, Steve Dubey, Sheryl Lange, Cathy Norlie, Paula Scholtes, Laura Kling, Shirley Rabo, Marion Harmon

Center row: Dan DeWayne, Heather Keag, Rick Rees, Flynn Hoffman, Sharon Salcido, Wendy Needels, Jim Gregg, Joe Wills, Sarah Fry, George Thompson, Anita Barker, Mike Thorpe, Matt Jackson, Paul Zingg

Front row: Judy Sitton, Verda Mackey, Marilyn Warrens, John Sutthoff, Nan Timmons, Sue Anderson, Durbin Sayers

Not pictured: Gregg Berryman, Michael Briand, Scott Chalmers, Wes Dempsey, Steve Gonsalves, Stephanie Hamel, Nancy Hodges, Jeff Jiang, London Long, Michael Magliari, Melissa McGowan, Russ Mills, JoAnn Morgan, Steve Nettleton, Alice Patterson, Bob Pentzer, Alan Rellaford, Tray Robinson, Ann Schwab, Audrey Tennis, Brooks Thorlaksson.