"Good advising may be the single most underestimated characteristic of a successful college experience." – R.J.Light

Advising Info for Faculty & Staff

Advisor's Bulletin

The Advisor's Bulletin is a resource for faculty and staff academic advisors. Each bulletin contains timely information to help students succeed.

One-on-One or Departmental Advising Training

Is there an aspect of advising in which you'd like individualized training or consultation? Trainings and workshops are available through the Academic Advising Office. If interested, contact Kim Dufour, Director, 898-5712.

Classroom Presentations

Do you feel that your students could benefit from learning more about the "New GE," "How to Read the DPR," or "How to Explore Majors?" Our professional advising staff is available for classroom presentations. We are pleased to offer workshop sessions that meet your scheduling needs. View a full list of our Advising Workshops for more examples of the information we can share with your students.

Academic Status Committee Petition Review

Professional Academic Advising Staff Available by College

As a faculty advisor you may have questions regarding general advising or how coursework within your college may double count. Feel free to contact the liaison for your college.

DIRECTOR
Kim Dufour
kdufour@csuchico.edu
ACADEMIC ADVISOR COLLEGE ASSIGNMENT
Kaitlyn Baumgartner
kbaumgartner@csuchico.edu
Liberal Studies
& College of Humanities & Fine Arts
Rebecca Berner
rberner2@csuchico.edu
College of Communication & Education
Dami Hammer
dhammer1@csuchico.edu
College of Behavioral & Social Sciences
& Undeclared Students
Kelly McGregor
kmcgregor@csuchico.edu
College of Business
Aurora Soto
asoto@csuchico.edu
College of Natural Sciences
& College of Agriculture
Jason Stapleton
jbstapleton@csuchico.edu
College of Engineering, Computer Science & Construction Management

Advising Skill Development Articles

Outstanding Academic Advisor

Each year the Faculty Recognition and Support Committee at CSU, Chico selects an Outstanding Academic Advisor based on peer faculty nominations.

Campus Advising Resources

Additional Resources