Faculty and Staff

Department Chair and Undergraduate Advisor:

Antoinette Martinez, Ph.D.
amartinez@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6193
Butte 311

Department Graduate Coordinator and Minor Advisor:

Georgia Fox
gfox@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-5583
Plumas 105

Department ASC I:

Jeannette Methvin-Terry
jmethvin-terry@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6192
Butte 311

Certificate Coordinators:

Applied Cultural Anthropology:     
Dr. David Eaton
daeaton@csuchico.edu
Cultural Resource Management:
Dr. Frank Bayham
fbayham@csuchico.edu
Forensic Identification:
Dr. Colleen Milligan
cfmilligan@csuchico.edu
Museum Studies:
Dr. Georgia Fox or Dr. Stacy Schaefer
gfox@csuchico.edu     sschaefer@csuchico.edu

Staff

Archaeology Lab Tech:                 
Kevin Dalton 
kddalton@csuchico.edu
Curator at Valene L. Smith Museum of Anthropology:
Adrienne Scott
ascott@csuchico.edu
Human ID Lab Tech:
Alexandra Perrone
aperrone1@csuchico.edu
NEIC:
Amy Huberland
ahuberland@csuchico.edu

Faculty

Dr. Eric BartelinkEric Bartelink

Email: ebartelink@csuchico.edu


Physical: bioarchaeology, paleodietary
reconstruction, forensic anthropology, California prehistory.

dr. frank bayhamFrank Bayham


Email: fbayham@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: Southwest, Great Basin,
Northern California Zooarchaeolgy, Taphonomy

brian braezealBrian Brazeal


Email: bcbrazeal@csuchico.edu

Cultural: Afro-Brazilian religions, visual anthropology

dr. jesse dizzardJesse Dizard

Email: jdizard@csuchico.edu

Cultural anthropologist primarily interested in controlling processes. His research explores the existence and impacts of the pleasures of prejudice in a variety of contexts. He has conducted ethnographic fieldwork in W. Africa, N. Africa, Alaska, Asia and Europe.

david eatonDavid Eaton

Email: daeaton@csuchico.edu

Cultural: medical anthropology, population and life sciences, human ecologies, narrative and performance

Dr. Georgia FoxGeorgia Fox


Email: gfox@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: Historical archaeology, maritime and underwater archaeology, material culture studies, museum studies, and archaeological and ethnographic conservation.

Dr. William LokerWilliam Loker

Email: wloker@csuchico.edu

Cultural:human ecology, globalization, and cultural evolution, adaptation, and development

dr. nette martinezAntoinette Martinez


Email: amartinez@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: North American and California archaeology, historical archaeology,
culture contact studies, native women in prehistory/history and
archaeofaunal analysis

dr. colleen milliganColleen Milligan


Email: cfmilligan@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, skeletal biology, forensic anthropology

OBrienMatthew O'Brien

Email: mjobrien@csuchico.edu 

Archaeology: Hunter-Gatherer Archaeology in the North American Rocky Mountains & Southwest; Ethnoarchaeology, Lithic Analysis, Quantitative Analysis, and Zooarchaeology.

dr. stacey schaeferStacy Schaefer


Email: sschaefer@csuchico.edu

Cultural: Mesoamerica, indigenous people, ethnography,
ethnobotany
, art, symbolism, shamanism, religion, and interpretation and representation in museum exhibitions

dr. p willeyP. Willey


Email: pwilley@csuchico.edu

Physical: skeletal biology, anatomy

Part Time Faculty

Kevin Dalton Kevin Dalton

Email: kddalton@csuchico.edu

Interests: Evolutionary ecology and evolutionary theory, zooarchaeology, geographic information science and GIS, the archaeology of the Great Basin and California, and cultural resource management.

Phil Dennis Phil Dennis

Email: phil.dennis@ttu.edu

Cultural anthropologist whose fieldwork includes work on intervillage conflict in Oaxaca, Mexico, and cultural bound illness among the Miskita people of Nicaragua

Alex PerroneAlex Perrone

Email: aperrone1@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, paleopathology, skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, health disparities, and California prehistory

Michael Pilakowski Michael Pilakowski

Email: mpilakowski@csuchico.edu

Interests: biological anthropology, Native American cultures, anthropology of education

Beth ShookBeth Shook

Email: bashook@csuchico.edu 

Physical:  Molecular Anthropology, Ancient DNA, Human Biological Variation and “Race", Forensic DNA, Prehistory and History of North America, Contemporary Native North Americans

Lisa WestwoodLisa Westwood

Email: lwestwood@csuchico.edu

Southwest US, California, and historical archaeology; space archaeology and human space exploration history; historic preservation; cultural resources management law; human osteology

Melody Yeager Melody Yeager

Email: mryeager@csuchico.edu

Cultural Anthropology: Globalization and changing gender roles due to tourism, anthropological study of food, food security, human cultural universals, family dynamic changes in immigrant populations, impacts of climate change on indigenous populations. Fieldwork, Pacific Mexico.

Emeritus Faculty

Beverly Chinas, UCLA 1969
William Collins, UC Berkeley 2005
Claire R. Farrer, University of Texas, Austin 1977
Carolyn Heinz
Keith Johnson, UCLA
Markoto Kowta, UCLA 1963
Turhon Murad, Indiana University 1975
James Myers, UC Berkeley 1960
Valene L. Smith, University of Utah 1966
Tom W. Johnson, UC Berkeley 1970
Charles Urbanowicz, University of Oregon 1972