Faculty and Staff

Anth Group Pict

Department Chair, Undergraduate Advisor and Minor Advisor:

Jesse Dizard
jdizard@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6193
Butte 311

Graduate Coordinator:

Colleen Milligan
cfmilligan@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6220
Plumas 109

Department Coordinator:

Jeannette Methvin-Terry
jmethvin-terry@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6192
Butte 311

Certificate Coordinators:

Applied Cultural Anthropology:     
Dr. David Eaton
daeaton@csuchico.edu
Cultural Resource Management:
Dr. Matt O'Brien
mjobrien@csuchico.edu
Forensic Identification:
Dr. Colleen Milligan
cfmilligan@csuchico.edu
Museum Studies:
Dr. William Nitzky
wnitzky@csuchico.edu   

Staff

Advanced Visual Anthropology Lab Tech:
Dan Bruns
ddbruns@csuchico.edu

Archaeology Lab Tech:

Human ID Lab Tech:
Alexandra Perrone
aperrone1@csuchico.edu 

Northeast Information Center (NEIC):
Amy Huberland
ahuberland@csuchico.edu

Curators at Valene L. Smith Museum of Anthropology
Adrienne Scott - Curator ascott@csuchico.edu
Heather McCafferty - Asst. Curator hmccafferty@csuchico.edu

Faculty

Dr. Eric Bartelink

Eric Bartelink

Email: ebartelink@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, paleodietary
reconstruction, forensic anthropology, California prehistory.

 

brian braezeal

Brian Brazeal

Email: bcbrazeal@csuchico.edu

Cultural: Afro-Brazilian religions, visual anthropology

dr. jesse dizzard

Jesse Dizard

Email: jdizard@csuchico.edu

Cultural anthropologist primarily interested in controlling processes. His research explores the existence and impacts of the pleasures of prejudice in a variety of contexts. He has conducted ethnographic fieldwork in W. Africa, N. Africa, Alaska, Asia and Europe.

david eaton

David Eaton

Email: daeaton@csuchico.edu

Cultural: medical anthropology, population and life sciences, human ecologies, narrative and performance

Dr. Georgia Fox

Georgia Fox

Email: gfox@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: Historical archaeology, maritime and underwater archaeology, material culture studies, museum studies, and archaeological and ethnographic conservation.

Dr. William Loker

William Loker

Email: wloker@csuchico.edu

Cultural:human ecology, globalization, and cultural evolution, adaptation, and development

dr. colleen milligan

Colleen Milligan

Email: cfmilligan@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, skeletal biology, forensic anthropology

WillNitzky

William Nitzky

Email: wnitzky@csuchico.edu

Cultural anthropology, ethnicity, heritage, museum studies, anthropology of tourism, identity politics, rural livelihoods and development, ethnography of the state; China and East Asia

OBrien

Matthew O'Brien

Email: mjobrien@csuchico.edu 

Archaeology: Hunter-Gatherer Archaeology in the North American Rocky Mountains & Southwest; Ethnoarchaeology, Lithic Analysis, Quantitative Analysis, and Zooarchaeology.

WillNitzky

Carly Whelan

Email: cwhelan2@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: California archaeology, human behavioral ecology, hunter-gatherers, storage, settlement, exchange, women in prehistory, ethnobotany, lithic analysis, XRF

dr. p willey

P. Willey

Email: pwilley@csuchico.edu

Physical: skeletal biology, anatomy


Part Time Faculty

Ariane BV

Ariane Belanger-Vincent

Email: abelanger-vincent@csuchico.edu

Sociocultural Anthropology: humanitarianism, international organizations and NGOs, global governance, security, international norms, the “Responsibility to Protect”, landmines, and ethnographic methods.

Alex Perrone

Alex Perrone

Email: aperrone1@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, paleopathology, skeletal biology, forensic anthropology, health disparities, and California prehistory

Michael Pilakowski

Michael Pilakowski

Email: mpilakowski@csuchico.edu

Interests: biological anthropology, Native American cultures, anthropology of education

Beth Shook

Beth Shook

Email: bashook@csuchico.edu 

Physical: Molecular Anthropology, Ancient DNA, Human Biological Variation and “Race", Forensic DNA, Prehistory and History of North America, Contemporary Native North Americans

Lisa Westwood

Lisa Westwood

Email: lwestwood@csuchico.edu 

Archaeology: Southwest US, California, and historical archaeology; space archaeology and human space exploration history; historic preservation; cultural resources management law; human osteology

Melody Yeager

Melody Yeager

Email: mryeager@csuchico.edu

Cultural Anthropology: Globalization and changing gender roles due to tourism, anthropological study of food, food security, human cultural universals, family dynamic changes in immigrant populations, impacts of climate change on indigenous populations. Fieldwork, Pacific Mexico.


Emeritus Faculty

Frank Bayham
Beverly Chinas, UCLA 1969
William Collins, UC Berkeley 2005
Claire R. Farrer, University of Texas, Austin 1977
Carolyn Heinz
Keith Johnson, UCLA
Makoto Kowta, UCLA 1963
Antoinette MartinezTurhon Murad, Indiana University 1975
James Myers, UC Berkeley 1960
Stacy Schaefer
Valene L. Smith, University of Utah 1966
Tom W. Johnson, UC Berkeley 1970
Charles Urbanowicz, University of Oregon 1972