Faculty and Staff

Department Chair and Undergraduate Advisor:

Antoinette Martinez, Ph.D.
amartinez@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6193
Butte 311

Department Graduate Coordinator and Minor Advisor:

Georgia Fox
gfox@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-5583
Plumas 105

Department ASC I:

Jeannette Methvin-Terry
jmethvin-Terry@csuchico.edu
(530) 898-6192
Butte 311

Certificate Coordinators:

Cultural Resource Management:
Dr. Frank Bayham
fbayham@csuchico.edu

Applied Cultural Anthropology:
Dr. David Eaton
daeaton@csuchico.edu

Museum Studies:
Dr. Georgia Fox or Dr. Stacy Schaefer
gfox@csuchico.edu     sschaefer@csuchico.edu

Forensic Identification:
Dr. Colleen Milligan
cfmilligan@csuchico.edu

Staff

Archaeology Lab Tech
Kevin Dalton 
kdalton@csuchico.edu

Curator at Valene L. Smith Museum of Anthropology
Adrienne Scott
ascott@csuchico.edu

Human ID Lab Tech
Alexandra Perrone
aperrone1@csuchico.edu

NEIC
Amy Huberland
ahuberland@csuchico.edu

Faculty

Dr. Eric BartelinkEric Bartelink

Email: ebartelink@csuchico.edu


Physical: bioarchaeology, paleodietary
reconstruction, forensic anthropology, California prehistory.

dr. frank bayhamFrank Bayham


Email: fbayham@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: Southwest, Great Basin,
Northern California Zooarchaeolgy, Taphonomy

brian braezealBrian Brazeal


Email: bcbrazeal@csuchico.edu

Cultural: Afro-Brazilian religions, visual anthropology

dr. bill collinsWilliam Collins


Email: wcollins@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: ancient civilizations, prehistoric cultures, archaeology
of the Old Testament Bible, and
contemporary Asian cultures

dr. jesse dizzardJesse Dizard

Email: jdizard@csuchico.edu

Cultural anthropologist primarily interested in controlling processes. His research explores the existence and impacts of the pleasures of prejudice in a variety of contexts: the conceptualization and  exploitation of 'nature'; the social construction of categories of 'enemy' and 'belonging'; the experience of violence, identity formation and social inequality among ethnic minorities, particularly Native Americans, as well as children and women; and questions of authenticity, interpretation and narrative.  He has conducted ethnographic fieldwork in W. Africa, N. Africa, Alaska, Asia and Europe.

david eatonDavid Eaton

Email: daeaton@csuchico.edu

Cultural: medical anthropology, population and life sciences, human ecologies, narrative and performance

Dr. Georgia FoxGeorgia Fox


Email: gfox@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: Historical archaeology, maritime and underwater archaeology, material culture studies, museum studies, and archaeological and ethnographic conservation.

Dr. William LokerWilliam Loker

Email: wloker@csuchico.edu

Cultural:human ecology, globalization, and cultural evolution, adaptation, and development

dr. nette martinezAntoinette Martinez


Email: amartinez@csuchico.edu

Archaeology: North American and California archaeology, historical archaeology,
culture contact studies, native women in prehistory/history and
archaeofaunal analysis

dr. colleen milliganColleen Milligan


Email: cfmilligan@csuchico.edu

Physical: bioarchaeology, skeletal biology, forensic anthropology

dr. stacey schaeferStacy Schaefer


Email: sschaefer@csuchico.edu

Cultural: Mesoamerica, indigenous people, ethnography,
ethnobotany
, art, symbolism, shamanism, religion, and interpretation and representation in museum exhibitions

dr. p willeyP. Willey


Email: pwilley@csuchico.edu

Physical: skeletal biology, anatomy

Part Time Faculty

Lisa Bright  
Phil Dennis, phil.dennis@ttu.edu
Michael Pilakowski, mpilakowski@csuchico.edu
Beth Shook, bashook@csuchico.edu  
Lisa Westwood, lwestwood@csuchico.edu
Melody Yeager, mryeager@csuchico.edu
 
 

Emeritus Faculty

Beverly Chinas, UCLA 1969
Claire R. Farrer, University of Texas, Austin 1977
Keith Johnson, UCLA
Markoto Kowta, UCLA 1963
James Myers, UC Berkeley 1960
Valene L. Smith, University of Utah 1966
Tom W. Johnson, UC Berkeley 1970
Carolyn Heniz
Charles Urbanowicz, University of Oregon 1972
Turhon Murad, Indiana University 1975