The arrival of Dr. Turhon Murad in 1972 at CSU, Chico saw the development of the academic and applied service of forensic anthropology in northern California. The service was enhanced by the addition of Dr. P. Willey in 1989, Dr. Eric Bartelink in 2006, and Dr. Colleen Milligan in 2010. Both Dr's. Willey and Murad (retired 2010) are Fellows of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) and Diplomates of the American Board of Forensic Anthropology (ABFA). Dr's. Bartelink and Milligan are Members of AAFS. CSU-Chico is among the few programs in North America with three forensic anthropologists among the faculty. The forensic anthropology faculty, staff, and students at CSU-Chico have played an important role in assisting various county sheriffs and coroners, district attorneys, the California Department of Justice, the Nevada Division of Investigation, and the FBI.