Department of Anthropology

Cultural Anthropology

We study the role of society and culture in the human experience. Our signature method is ethnographic participant-observation. We seek to share the lives of the communities where we study and convey their experiences to our students, colleagues and the public. Our goal is to understand the spectrum of cultural difference.

We use that understanding to fight against ethnocentrism, racial prejudice and other forms of discrimination. Faculty areas of expertise include ecology, medicine, religion, ethnicity, migration, planning, heritage, and tourism.

We have conducted research on every inhabited continent. We specialize in the design of museum exhibits, the production of documentary films and engaged scholarship to benefit the communities where we work.

Labs and Facilities

Advanced Laboratory of Visual Anthropology (ALVA)
Ethnography Laboratory

Faculty, Lecturers and Staff

Ariane Bélanger-Vincent, PhD
Email: abelanger-vincent@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4038

Brian Brazeal, PhD, Director of the Advanced Laboratory of Visual Anthropology (ALVA)
Email: bcbrazeal@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4094

Jesse Dizard, PhD
Email: jdizard@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-6192

David Eaton, PhD, MPH
Email: daeaton@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4185

William Nitzky, PhD, Co-director of the Valene L. Smith Museum of Anthropology
Email: daeaton@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4185

Michael Pilakowski, MA
Email: mpilakowski@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4038

Beth Shook, PhD
Email: bashook@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-5711

Kevin Weherly, MA
Email: kweherly@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4357

Lisa Westwood, MA
Email: lwestwood@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-6192

Melody Yeager, MA
Email: mryeager@csuchico.edu
Phone: 530-898-4953