The George E. Corson Honor Award

George E. Corson Award application form may be downloaded by CLICKING HERE.

Eligibility: The Applicant Must:

  • Be an Active member of Omicron Theta Epsilon.
  • Have at least senior standing at the beginning of the next fall semester.
  • Be majoring in Biology, Microbiology, or Botany.
  • Have completed at least 15 units in biology courses in the major by the beginning of the next fall semester.
  • Have at least an overall GPA of 2.7 and at least a 3.0 GPA in the courses required for the major at the time the application is submitted.
  • Must be a full-time student the semester for which the scholarship is awarded:
    • Undergraduate - 12 or more semester units.
    • Graduate - 8 or more semester units
  • Normally awards will be distributed during the Fall semester registration. Awards of $600 or may will be split between Fall and Spring semesters.

Evaluation: Applicants will be evaluated on the following (Award not based on financial need):

  • GPA in courses required for the major (30%)
  • Overall GPA (20%)
  • Participation in Omicron Theta Epsilon (20%)
  • Biologically related extra-curricular activities (15%)
  • Other extra-curricular activities (5%)
  • Personal essay (10%)
    (percentages represent approximate weights)

Application: Due by March 1 - Each applicant must submit:

  • A personal essay that clearly presents your activities related to items in the evaluation section of this page; your future academic plan; your reason for applying for this award; and why you are qualified to be a recipient of this honor. Remember about 10% of the evaluation is based on your ability to communicate, in a succinct fashion, all of the above.
  • A transcript of all completed course work.
  • GPA total for all courses in major.
  • GPA for all coursework - cumulative.
  • A list of coursework in progress.
  • A list of anticipated courses for the next academic year.
  • The general university scholarship application form.

Scholarship Selection Committee is composed of: Dean of Natural Sciences, Omicron Advisor(s), Faculty member other than Omicron Advisor(s), Omicron President or other officer and an active Omicron member other than an officer.