Directory

Advisors

Full-Time Faculty

Jeffrey Bell Bell, Jeffrey
Professor 
Chair, Biology 
Holt 205 
898-5356 
jbell@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Principles of Genetics (BIOL 360)
Research: Evolution and regulation of the vertebrate msx2 homeobox gene.
Advising:  Pre-Dentistry/Dental Hygiene, Cell/Molecular Biology
Kristopher Blee Blee, Kristopher
Associate Professor 
Holt 301H 
898-5116 
kblee@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Principles of Biology (BIOL 151), Plant Development (BIOL 440), Plant Pathology (BIOL 446), Topics in Cell/Molecular Biology (BIOL 610), Plant Molecular Biology (BIOL 670)
Research: Plant-microbe interactions, and function of the secretory peroxidase gene family in plants.
Advising:  Plant Biology, Cell/Molecular Biology
Troy Cline

Cline, Troy
Assistant Professor
Holt 301 J
898-4123
tdcline@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Medical Bacteriology (BIOL 470), Virology (BIOL 476), Advanced Cell and Molecular Biology (BIOL 611)
Research: Innate immunity and pathogenesis of influenza virus and astrovirus
Advising: Microbiology
day

Day, Jonathan
Professor
Holt 223 
898-6303 
jday@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Vertebrate Physiology (BIOL 416), Neurophysiology (BIOL 418)
Research: Successful aging, brain-hormone interactions, learning and memory, diseases of the aging brain.
Advising: Pre-Medicine, Pre-Physician Assistant, Pre-Veterinarian, Cell/Molecular Biology
Patricia Edelmann Edelmann, Patricia
Professor Emerita
Holt 313 
898-4748 
pedelmann@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Allied Health (BIOL 211)
Research: Bacterial adaptation to extreme environments.
Advising: Microbiology, General Biology
Tag Engstrom Engstrom, Tag
Associate Professor 
Holt 221
898-6748 
tengstrom@csuchico.edu
Center for Water and the Environment
Teaching:
 Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy (BIOL 430), General Zoology Lab (BIOL 210), Graduate Student Seminar (BIOL 605)
Research: Systematics, ecology, and conservation of amphibians and reptiles, particularly turtles.
Advising:  Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology
Emily Fleming-Neuster Fleming-Nuester, Emily
Assistant Professor
Holt 328 
898-
enuester@csuchico.edu
Teaching: General Microbiology (BIOL371), Bacterial Physiology (BIOL412)
Research: TBA
Advising:  TBA
Hanne Hanne, Larry
Professor Emeritus
Holt 328 
898-6298 
lhanne@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Allied Health Microbiology (BIOL 211), Medical Bacteriology (BIOL 470), General Virology (BIOL 476)
Research: Bacteriophage biology and bacterial degradation of environmental pollutants.
Advising:  Microbiology, Cell/Molecular Biology, Graduate Programs
Colleen Hatfield Hatfield, Colleen
Professor 
Holt 240
898-4235 
chatfield@csuchico.edu

Rawlins Chair in Environmental Literacy
Teaching:
 Fundamentals of Ecology (BIOL 350), Landscape Ecology (BIOL 660), Community Ecology (BIOL 668), Conservation Ecology (BIOL 334)
Research: How the spatial pattern of resource distribution on a landscape affects ecological processes, from individual behavior to population and community dynamics.
Advising: Plant Biology, Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology

Christppher Ivey

Ivey, Christopher 
Associate Professor 
Holt 306 
898-5812 
ctivey@csuchico.edu

Website

Teaching: Advanced Plant Biology (BIOL 369), Prin of Cell and Molec Biology (BIOL 151) and Prin Ecol, Evol, Org Biology (BIOL 152)
Research: Plant-insect interactions, mating systems, functional morphology, and population genetics of plants.
Advising:  Plant Biology, Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology
David Keller Keller, David
Associate Professor
Holt 318
898-5040
dmkeller@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Genetics (Biol 360); Cell Biology (Biol 411); Advanced Cell/Molecular Biology (Biol 609)
Research:
Gene regulation and beta cell physiology
Advising: Cell/Molecular Biology
John Mahoney

Mahoney, John
Professor
MLIB 171
898-6410 or 898-4767
jmahoney@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Immunology (BIOL 466), Hematology (BIOL 462), Beauty (HNRS 201), Nature (HNRS 202), Science and Human Values (HNRS 320)
Research: Host-pathogen interactions, inflammation, and signal transduction.
Advising:  Pre-Medicine, Pre-Veterinarian, Cell/Molecular Biology, Honors
Bev Marcum Marcum, Bev
Professor 
Holt 330 
898-5539 
bmarcum@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Embryology (BIOL 426)
Research: Morphogenesis in developing systems, mechanisms of regeneration, pattern formation, and cell differentiation; specifically, using cnidaria as developmental models.
Advising:  Zoology, single subject teaching, General Biology
Don Miller Miller, Donald
Professor 
Holt 213
898-6153 
dgmiller@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Science and Human Values (BIOL 322), General Entomology (BIOL 422)
Research: Behavioral ecology, especially of invertebrates, ecology and evolution of social behavior and social parasitism, insect-plant interactions.
Advising: Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology, Zoology
James Pushnik Pushnik, James
Professor 
Holt 101B 
898-6362 
Director of the Institute for Sustainable Development, SSC 464C, 898-3331
jpushnik@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Plant Physiology (BIOL 414)
Research: Physiological response mechanisms of plants to environmental stresses and their impact on growth and development.  
schierenbeck Schierenbeck, Kristina
Professor
Holt 308
898- 6099
kschierenbeck@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Evolution (BIOL 302), Principles of Evolution (BIOL 408), and Plant Diversity/Identification (BIOL 448)
Research: Population Genetics, Conservation Invasive species
Advising: Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology and Plant Biology
stachura Stachura, David
Assistant Professor
Holt 313
898-4748
dstachura@csuchico.edu

Website

Teaching: BIOL 609, 610
Research: Utilizing zebrafish as a model system to investigate hematopoietic stem and progenitor cell proliferation, differentiation, and dysregulation.
Advising:  TBA
Gordon Wolfe Wolfe, Gordon
Professor 
Holt 343 
898-4256 
gwolfe2@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Microbial Ecology (BIOL 402), General Microbiolgy (BIOL 371)
Research: Chemical signaling and defense among marine protists, molecular ecology, lipid biology of marine algae, education research.
Advising:  Microbiology, Ecology, Cell/Molecular Biology

Lecturers

Araujo

Araujo-Sarinana, Juan
Holt 248
898-5589
jaraujo@mail.csuchico.edu

Web site

Teaching: Human Physiology (BIOL 104) and Prin of Cell and Molec Biology (BIOL 151)
Gary Arnet Arnet, Gary
Holt 333 
898-5846 
GArnet@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy (BIOL 103), Biology of Cancer (BIOL 345), Histology (BIOL 460)
Jay Bogiatto Bogiatto, Jay
Holt 211 
898-4490 
rbogiatto@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Waterfowl Biology and Wetland Management (BIOL 436), Orinithology (BIOL 434), Mammalology (BIOL 435), Advanced Zoology (BIOL 370) Evolution (BIOL 302), Biological Seminars (BIOL 492), and special problems (BIOL 399).  

Advising: Ecological, Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology, Omicron Theta Epsilon (Honors in Biology), and the CSU, Chico Student Chapter of the California Waterfowl Association (CWA)

becki_tahoe Brunelli, Rebecca
Holt 345
898-6181
rbrunelli@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Biology of Sex (BIOL 323), Introduction to Living Systems (NSCI 102), Human Physiology (BIOL 104)
Dubie

Dubie, Robert
Holt 333
898-5846
rdubie@csuchico.edu

 Teaching: Allied Health Microbiology (BIOL 211) and Prin of Physiology & Developmt (BIOL 153) labs
Ervin

Ervin, Bryan
Holt 253
bervin@mail.csuchico.edu

Web site

 Teaching: Intro to Cellular and Molecular Labs (Biol 151)
Rachel Francis

Francis Rachel
Holt 253
rfrancis4@mail.csuchico.edu

Teaching:  (Principals of ecology, evolution, and organismal biology (BIOL 152), Ecology (BIOL 350), and Statistics (MATH 105)
Erin Gottschalk Fisher

Gottschalk Fisher, Erin
Holt 253
egottschalkfisher@mail.csuchico.edu

Web site

Teaching: Introduction to Living Systems (NSCI 102)
grewal Grewal, Mandeep
Holt 253
898-6317
mgrewal@mail.csuchico.edu
Teaching: Prin of Physiology & Development (BIOL 153)
Shelly Kirn Kirn, Shelly
Holt 254 
898-5757 
SAKirn@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Biology of Childhood (BIOL 318), Human Anatomy (BIOL 103) and Ecology (BIOL 350)

Advising: Omicron Theta Epsilon (Honors in Biology) and the Chico State Field-Naturalists (formerly the Chico State Birding Club)

kohut Kohut, Kathie
office hours by appointment only
KKohut@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Hematology (BIOL 322 - spring semester)
Lechner Lechner, Gary
Holt 333 
898-5846 
GLechner@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy (BIOL 104)
Mills, Ayla Mills, Ayla
Holt 253
amills8@mail.csuchico.edu
Teaching: Food Fiber and Drugs Lab (Biol 105)
Research: Invasive Species/Habitat Restoration
Mahlis Mahlis, Kristen
Tehama 225
898-5249
KMahlis@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Science and Human Values (BIOL 462 - spring semester only)
Renfro Tamietti (formerly Renfro), Betsey
Holt 325
898-6917
brenfro@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Allied Health Microbiology (BIOL 211)
Smith Smith, Mary
Holt 254
898-5757
MKSmith2@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Plant Pathology (BIOL 446)
sandberg Sandberg, John
Holt 233
898-5573
jsandberg@csuchico.edu
 Teaching: Aquatic Ecology (BIOL 404)
Darhl Whitlock Whitlock, Darhl
Holt 345 
898-6181 
dwhitlock@csuchico.edu
Teaching:  Human Genetics (BIOL 303), Intro to Living Systems (NSCI 102)
Rick Wittsell Wittsell, Rick
Holt 345 
898-6181 
rwittsell@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Human Physiology (BIOL 104)

Graduate Teaching Associates

Foster, Stephanie
Holt 253
sfoster8@mail.csuchico.edu

Ghimire, Badri
Holt 253
bghimire@mail.csuchico.edu

Ho, Dennis M.
Holt 253
898-4729
dho7@mail.csuchico.edu

Lengerich, Julie
Holt 253
jlengerich@mail.csuchico.edu

Mabry, Jeff
Holt 245
jmabry@mail.csuchico.edu

Mills, Jason
Holt 253
jmmills@csuchico.edu

Moran, Amy Jo
Holt 253
898-4729
amoran@mail.csuchico.edu

Padgett, Evan
Holt 253
epadgett1@mail.csuchico.edu

Pukini, Cory
Holt 253
wpukini@mail.csuchico.edu

Sekar, Keerthana
Holt 253
ksekar@csuchico.edu

Stanton, Alexander
Holt 253
astanton2@mail.csuchico.edu

Staff

braden

Braden, Julie (Biology Office) 
Holt 205 
898-5356 
JBraden@csuchico.ed

Colonna, Rachel (Biology Stockroom) 
Holt 165 
898-4810
rcolonna@csuchico.ed

Tim Devine

Devine, Tim & Gantt, Pat (Greenhouse/Animal Room) 
Greenhouse 
898-5229/898-5121 
TDevine@csuchico.edu

Kathy Johns

Johns, Kathy(Biology Office) 
Holt 205 
898-5356 
KJohns@csuchico.edu
 

Renfro

Renfro, Betsey (Microbiology Media Lab) 
Holt 325 
898-6917 
BRenfro@csuchico.edu

Mary Smith

Smith, Mary (Biology Stockroom
Holt 165 
898-6217
MKSmith2@csuchico.edu 

Janeway, Lawrence (Herbarium
Holt 131A 
898-5381 
LJaneway@csuchico.edu

Lee, Jaydie (Shop) 
PHSY 102 
898-6239 
jilee@csuchico.edu

Big Chico Creek Ecological Reserve)
35 Main Street 
898-5010 

Rotnem, Jennifer 
Holt 281 
898-5205 
JRotnem@csuchico.edu

Recently Retired Faculty

Abruzzo, Michael
Professor Emeritus
MAbruzzo@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Genetics, Human Genetics, Medical Genetics, and Biology of Cancer.
Research: Molecular cytogenetics, especially Fragile X syndrome.
Alexander, Douglas
Professor Emeritus
DAlexander@csuchico.edu
Research:  Invertebrate population adaptations to periodic environments and how these populations assemble into communities and influence ecosystem function.
Barnett, Raymond
Professor Emeritus
Derr, William
Professor Emeritus
BDerr@csuchico.edu
Kistner, David
Professor Emeritus
DKistner@csuchico.edu
Research: Insect social behavior, Insect Systematics; Host relationships. Editor, Sociobiology..
McEnteggart, Ailsie 
Professor
amcenteggart@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Concepts of Biology (Biol 101), Biological Principles (Biol 152), Botany (Biol 209), Plant Morphology (Biol 225), Phycology (Biol 226)
Research: Morphology of freshwater algae.
Mintzes, Joel
Professor
jmintzes@csuchico.edu
Teaching: NSCI 343 Concepts of Environmental Sciences
Research: Conceptual Development and Cognitive Processes in Biology; Environmental Education. Our research focuses on knowledge acquisition and learning in the life sciences with special interest in the way naive individuals and experts restructure their understanding of biological concepts over time.
Thomas, Robert
Professor Emeritus
BThomas@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Vertebrate Physiology 
Research: DNA breaks in the mussel and clam following chronic field exposure to hydrocarbons