News

Biological Sciences Seminars Available for Viewing

The Biological Sciences Seminars are now available for viewing. The presentations have been transcribed and the transcriptions with PowerPoints are available online.

Graduate Students Wanted

Talented student researchers interested in pursuing the Master of Science degree in biology.  Check out the research interests of our faculty and get in touch with your potential advisor today!

Donor Impact Report now available.

College of Natural Sciences Alumni Reunion:
October 11-12, 2013

Faculty Research

Advisors

Full-Time Faculty

Jeffrey Bell Bell, Jeffrey
Professor 
Chair, Biology 
Holt 205 
898-5356 
jbell@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Principles of Genetics (Biol 360)
Research: Evolution and regulation of the vertebrate msx2 homeobox gene.
Advising:  Pre-Dentistry/Dental Hygiene, Cell/Molecular Biology
Kristopher Blee Blee, Kristopher
Associate Professor 
Holt 301H 
898-5116 
kblee@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Principles of Biology (Biol 151), Plant Development (Biol 440), Plant Pathology (Biol 446), Topics in Cell/Molecular Biology (Biol 610), Plant Molecular Biology (Biol 670)
Research: Plant-microbe interactions, and function of the secretory peroxidase gene family in plants.
Advising:  Plant Biology, Cell/Molecular Biology
Jonathan Day Day, Jonathan
Professor 
Holt 223 
898-6303 
jday@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Human Physiology (Biol 104), Vertebrate Physiology (Biol 416), Neurophysiology (Biol 418)
Research: Successful aging, brain-hormone interactions, learning and memory, diseases of the aging brain.
Advising: Pre-Medicine, Pre-Physician Assistant, Pre-Veterinarian, Cell/Molecular Biology, Graduate Coordinator
Patricia Edelmann Edelmann, Patricia
Professor Emerita
Holt 313 
898-4748 
pedelmann@csuchico.edu

Research: Allied Health 211, Micro
Research: Bacterial adaptation to extreme environments.
Advising: Microbiology, General Biology

Tag Engstrom Engstrom, Tag
Associate Professor 
Holt 221
898-6748 
tengstrom@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy (Biol 430), General Zoology Lab (Biol 210), Graduate Student Seminar (Biol 605)
Research: Systematics, ecology, and conservation of amphibians and reptiles, particularly turtles.
Advising:  Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology
Larry Hanne Hanne, Larry
Professor Emeritus
Holt 328 
898-6298 
lhanne@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Allied Health Microbiology (Biol 211), Medical Bacteriology (Biol 470), General Virology (Biol 476)
Research: Bacteriophage biology and bacterial degradation of environmental pollutants.
Advising:  Microbiology, Cell/Molecular Biology, Graduate Programs
Colleen Hatfield Hatfield, Colleen
Associate Professor 
Holt 240
898-4235 
chatfield@csuchico.edu

Center for Ecological Research Director
Teaching:
 BIOL 350, BIOL 660, BIOL 600
Research: How the spatial pattern of resource distribution on a landscape affects ecological processes, from individual behavior to population and community dynamics.
Advising: Plant Biology, Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology

Christppher Ivey Ivey, Christopher 
Assistant Professor 
Holt 306 
898-5812 
ctivey@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Advanced Plant Biology (Biol 369), BIOL 151 and 152
Research: Plant-insect interactions, mating systems, functional morphology, and population genetics of plants.
Advising:  Plant Biology, Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology
David Keller Keller, David
Assistant Professor
Holt 318
898-5040
dmkeller@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Principles of Physiology & Development (Biol 153); Cell Biology (Biol 411); Advanced Cell/Molecular Biology (Biol 609)
Research: Gene regulation and beta cell physiology
Advising: Cell/Molecular Biology
John Mahoney

Mahoney, John
Associate Professor
Holt  114
898-6410 or 898-4767
jmahoney@csuchico.edu

Teaching: Immunology (Biol 466), Hematology (BIOL 462)
Research: Host-pathogen interactions, inflammation, and signal transduction.
Advising:  Pre-Medicine, Pre-Veterinarian, Cell/Molecular Biology, Honors
Bev Marcum Marcum, Bev
Professor 
Holt 330 
898-5539 
bmarcum@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Embryology (Biol 426)
Research: Morphogenesis in developing systems, mechanisms of regeneration, pattern formation, and cell differentiation; specifically, using cnidaria as developmental models.
Advising:  Zoology, single subject teaching, General Biology
Don Miller Miller, Donald
Associate Professor 
Holt 213
898-6153 
dgmiller@csuchico.edu
Teaching: BIOL 322, General Entomology (Biol 422)
Research: Behavioral ecology, especially of invertebrates, ecology and evolution of social behavior and social parasitism, insect-plant interactions.
Advising: Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology, Zoology
James Pushnik Pushnik, James
Professor 
Holt 101B 
898-6362 
Director of the Institute for Sustainable Development, SSC 464C, 898-3331
jpushnik@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Plant Physiology (Biol 414)
Research: Physiological response mechanisms of plants to environmental stresses and their impact on growth and development.  
Advising:  Plant Biology, Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology, Jack Rawlins Endowed Professor of Environmental Literacy
Kristina Schierenbeck Schierenbeck, Kristina
Professor
Holt 308
898- 6099
kschierenbeck@csuchico.edu
Teaching: BIOL 302, 408, and 448
Research: Population Genetics, Conservation Invasive species
Advising: Ecological Evolutionary, and Organismal Biology and Plant Biology
Andrea White White, Andrea
Assistant Professor 
Holt 301J 
898-4123 
akwhite@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Spring semester-Bacterial Physiology (BIOL 412), Fall semester-General Microbiology (BIOL 371)
Research: Bacterial physiology and genetics of reduced phosphorus metabolism.
Advising:  Microbiology, Cell/Molecular Biology
Gordon Wolfe Wolfe, Gordon
Professor 
Holt 343 
898-4256 
gwolfe2@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Microbial Ecology (Biol 402), General Microbiolgy (Biol 371)
Research: Chemical signaling and defense among marine protists, molecular ecology, lipid biology of marine algae, education research.
Advising:  Microbiology, Ecology, Cell/Molecular Biology

Recently Retired Faculty

Abruzzo, Michael
Professor Emeritus
MAbruzzo@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Genetics, Human Genetics, Medical Genetics, and Biology of Cancer.
Research: Molecular cytogenetics, especially Fragile X syndrome.
Alexander, Douglas
Professor Emeritus
DAlexander@csuchico.edu
Research:  Invertebrate population adaptations to periodic environments and how these populations assemble into communities and influence ecosystem function.
Barnett, Raymond
Professor Emeritus
Derr, William
Professor Emeritus
BDerr@csuchico.edu
Kistner, David
Professor Emeritus
DKistner@csuchico.edu
Research: Insect social behavior, Insect Systematics; Host relationships. Editor, Sociobiology..
McEnteggart, Ailsie 
Professor
amcenteggart@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Concepts of Biology (Biol 101), Biological Principles (Biol 152), Botany (Biol 209), Plant Morphology (Biol 225), Phycology (Biol 226)
Research: Morphology of freshwater algae.
Thomas, Robert
Professor Emeritus
BThomas@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Vertebrate Physiology 
Research: DNA breaks in the mussel and clam following chronic field exposure to hydrocarbons
Wood, David
Professor Emeritus
DMWood@csuchico.edu
Teaching: Ecology, Plant Geography;
Research: Plant community ecology; restoration ecology