College of Communication & Education


The College of Communication and Education is grateful for the generous support of individuals, corporations, and foundations whose scholarship contributions help foster our tradition of excellent student performance, outstanding faculty, and award-winning programs.

Endowments, gifts that provide support in perpetuity, are the cornerstone of the College of Communication and Education’s success. Donors who establish an endowed fund leave a legacy of support so that those who follow can pursue their academic dreams.

To discuss establishing an endowed or annual fund please contact Erica Flores, or call 530 898-3125.

To apply for scholarships see the University Scholarship pages

Academic and Performance Scholarship

These scholarships provide awards of $1,000 to $2000 to promising first-year freshman and transfer
The awards have three main criteria:1) A commitment by the student to declare a major within the
College of Communication and Education; 2) A demonstration that the award is critical to a
student’s decision to attend CSU, Chico; and/or; 3) Student shows proof of outstanding academic
performance. Submit application to Director of External Relations Sarah Fry or fax to Sarah Fry 530-898-4345 by
February 28, 2018. Application Due February 28, 2018 (PDF)

College of Communication and Education Endowed Scholarships

  • Arthur L. Acker Scholarship
  • Laeta Acker Scholarship
  • Joie Armstrong Memorial Scholarship
  • Earl W. Baker Memorial Scholarship
  • Philip M. Batlin Memorial Scholarship
  • George Benson Memorial Scholarship
  • Hilma Augusta Berg Teaching Scholarship
  • California Student Volunteer Fund
  • Matthew L. Cecchi Memorial Scholarship
  • William B. & Beatrice H. Chizlett Elementary Education Scholarship
  • Michael John Edridge Memorial Scholarship
  • Jim Ferguson Scholarship
  • Nancy and Jack Fox Future Teacher Scholarship
  • Zuola Foster Ganyon Memorial Scholarship
  • Matthew Granucci Memorial Scholarship
  • Berryman Family Graphic Design Scholarship
  • Dorothy Stover Hall and Jacqueline Hall Scholarship
  • Aymer J. Hamilton Memorial Scholarship
  • Tom R. Hennion Scholarship
  • Austin W. Herrick Endowed Scholarship
  • Victor M. Houston and Jo Rickman Houston Memorial Scholarship in Teacher Education
  • Mary and Rudy Jensen Endowed Scholarship
  • Amy Kee Outstanding Upward Bound Senior Award
  • Dr. Stephen W. King Scholarship
  • Ruby Ladewig Memorial Scholarship
  • Joe Lipson Scholarship
  • Cheryl Worden Maglischo Memorial Fund
  • Leslie Main Instructional Technology Scholarship
  • Bill McConnell/Richard Tolette Memorial Scholarship
  • Paul A. and Dorothy C. Morgan Teaching Scholarship
  • J. Russell and Mabel Morris Scholarship
  • Susan O. Morrow Teaching Scholarship
  • Betty Porter Elementary Teacher Scholarship
  • Dave and Frances Ramme Scholarship
  • William Read Memorial Scholarship
  • Pat and Rowland 'Reb' Rebele Scholarship
  • Recreation Emeriti Faculty Scholarship
  • J. Ned Richardson Memorial Scholarship
  • Lucian Richardson Scholarship
  • Muriel F. Richins Endowment
  • Scott Douglas Schindler Memorial Scholarship
  • Charles and Martha Self Memorial Scholarship
  • Jane W. Shurmer - Lola Osborn Story Scholarship
  • Helen Elizabeth Stansell Education Scholarship
  • Lola Lee Story Merit Award
  • Bonney Clough Strain Memorial Scholarship
  • Leona Dickey Van Antwerp Scholarship
  • Antranik and Berjoohy Vartabedian Scholarship
  • Bob Vivian Public Relations Scholarship
  • Beverly Wadsworth Memorial Scholarship
  • A. H. Weibel and A. W. Bramwell Memorial Scholarship

Annual Scholarships

  • Academic and Performance Awards
  • Gordon Brown Scholarship
  • California Retired Teachers Association Scholarship
  • Chico Creek Teaching Scholarship
  • College of Communication and Education Outstanding Student Leader Award
  • Communication Studies Alumni Scholarship
  • John E. Conner Scholarship in Recreation and Leisure Studies
  • Cottrell Family Teaching Scholarship
  • Graduate Intern Research Award
  • Robert E. Hall Memorial Scholarship
  • William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship
  • International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) Scholarship
  • Marysville Appeal Democrat Journalism Scholarship
  • Mark and June McMahon Community Journalism Scholarship
  • Dr. Charles L. Millis Elementary Education Scholarship
  • Carol Moore Elementary Teaching Scholarship
  • Moyna O'Rourke Public Relations Scholarship
  • Physical Education Alumni and Friends Scholarship
  • Carolynn Reynolds/Nancy Williams Scholarship
  • George Roseman Education Scholarship
  • School of Communication Outstanding Student Award
  • Society of Professional Journalists Scholarship
  • Tehama Group Communications Award
  • Dave Waddell/Glen Bleske Orion Award