General Education Curriculum Advisory Board (CAB) Committee

2014-2015 General Education Curriculum Advisory Board (CAB) 


Christopher Nichols – Representative, EPPC

Faculty Representatives

Baohui Song – College of Agriculture

Jacquelyn Chase – College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Kent Sandoe – College of Business

Jennifer Oloff-Lewis – College of Communication and Education

Stewart Oakley – College of Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management

Christine Goulding – College of Humanities and Fine Arts

John Mahoney – College of Natural Sciences

Kevin Klipfel – Library

Pathway Coordinators

Tracy Butts – Diversity Studies Pathway

Ryan Patten – Ethics, Justice and Policy Pathway

Julie Holland – Food Studies Pathway

Kate Transchel – Gender and Sexuality Pathway

Jacquelyn Chase – Global Development Studies Pathway

Ed Pluth – Great Books and Ideas Pathway

Jason Clower – Health and Wellness Pathway

Patricia Black – International Studies Pathway

LaDona Knigge – Science, Technology and Values Pathway

Don Miller – Sustainability Pathway


Christopher Nichols – Education Policies and Programs Committee

Ex-Officio Members

Kim DuFour – Academic Advising Programs

William Loker – Provost Designee

Student Representative


General questions can be referred to the General Education Advisory Board

From EM 10-001 Approval of General Education Program:


Administrative Structure

The CAB (Curriculum Advisory Board) will be responsible for making recommendations to the Provost or designee on the implementation, monitoring, and development of the GE program. In consultation with appropriate disciplinary faculty, it is responsible for the coordination of assessment and the addition or deletion of individual courses as well as any proposed substitutions. Since CAB will advise the Provost on a major university program, it may either initiate advice or respond to requests for advice. This committee will comprise:

  • Eight Faculty Representatives - One representative elected by and from each college and one by and from the library. (two year staggered terms, renewable)
  • Pathway Coordinators - Pathway coordinators receive release time for overseeing the coherence and breadth of pathways and participation on CAB; a coordinator may also serve concurrently as an elected college representative (two year staggered terms, renewable)
    • One selected from the Academic Senate's Educational Policies and Programs Committee (one year term, renewable twice)
    • Two ex-officio members -- one Provost designee and one member of the Academic Advising Programs
    • One student representative selected by the AS President (one year term, renewable)

The CAB chair will be elected annually from the faculty representatives and will receive release time for coordinating the committee's work.

Academic Department Manual Table of Contents

This document is the property of Academic Affairs and maintained by Curriculum Services