John G. Smale Award

for Outstanding Achievement in Economics

Each year, the Department of Economics honors one or two of its graduates with the Smale Award for Outstanding Achievement in Economics. The award is named after Dr. John G. Smale, Jr., Professor Emeritus and founder of CSU,Chico' s Department of Economics. Dr. Smale (now over 102 years old) still proudly presents these awards each year at the Economics Awards Ceremony before spring graduation.

Criteria for The John G. Smale Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement:

  • Graduating senior majoring in Economics
  • Scholastic achievement above 3.0 GPA
  • Demonstrated excellence in Economics courses
  • Commitment to Economics as a profession
  • Outstanding writing ability
  • Ability to carry out independent economic research
  • Submission of a Statement of Goals to Dept. of Economics

Criteria for The John G. Smale Scholarship for Excellence criteria:

  • Same as above, only for a non-graduating Economics major.

Dr. John G. Smale
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Dr. John G. Smale taught the first class in economics at CSU, Chico in 1942, but it was not until the 1950s that Economics was organized as a Department within the School of Behavorial and Social Sciences. Dr. Smale was the first chair of the Economics Department at CSU, Chico. Prior to this year Dr. Smale presented the Smale Awards to the Economics majors who are selected by the faculty as the most outstanding Economics scholars. Dr. Smale, who was born in 1902, died

Recipients of Smale Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: The following graduates are all recipients of the Smale Awards. While at CSU, Chico, these students distinguished themselves as outstanding scholars and they continue to excel in their chosen fields.

  • 1992: Robert C. Eyler
  • 1993: L. Knox Marshall
  • 1994: Russell Hammond and Jorge Carballo
  • 1995: Shelley M. Way
  • 1996: John H. Rivers, Jr.
  • 1997: Elizabeth M. Cantrall
  • 1998: Matthew S. Deatrick and Sherry Metcalf
  • 1998: Anna A. Polozova
  • 1999: Daniel P. DeAraujo
  • 2000: Keiko Kitao
  • 2001: Elvira A. Howe
  • 2002: Constant I. Tra
  • 2003: Travis G. Coan
  • 2004: Iris D. (Jensen) Ponsano and Yosuke Sakashita
  • 2005: Jeffrey J. Felardo, Ashleigh J. Hoyt and Kota Minegishi
  • 2006: Juan Solis
  • 2007: Kota Minegishi
  • 2008: Kana Kobayashi
  • 2009: Gregory Turcotte
  • 2010: Jenner Gwinup
  • 2011: Simon Hermann
  • 2012: Timothy Fairchild
  • 2013: Michael Karp
  • 2014: Brandon Connor Franklin

Back to Top