The Committee for Online Instruction (COI) was formed to address the need for demonstrating quality in online instruction, and for setting some guidelines for developers of online teaching. This committee (originally called CEEOC), comprising 13 faculty, 4 staff, 2 administrators, and 1 student, represented a cross-section of the teaching and learning environment of Chico State. They first met in May of 2002 and for three full days during that summer reviewed materials and discussed criteria and categories for evaluating online course components. In order to draw from the expertise of the scholarly community, the committee first reviewed existing best practices, learning styles, and standards (e.g., Graf and Caines' WebCT Exemplary Course Rubric, Bloom's Taxonomy, Chickering & Gamson's 7 Good Teaching Practices in Undergraduate Education).

The result was a "Rubric for Online Instruction" that not only promotes an ongoing discussion about the nature of student learning, it also helps us develop and evaluate online courses.

In spring of 2003, we offered this rubric to the campus community and invited nominations for recognition of online courses. Since then it has been used by institutions of higher education worldwide, and is helping faculty to receive recognition for their hard work in online course delivery.

The Rubric was last updated in January 2009 to include recognition of the Accessible Technology Initiative.

Committee Charge

"The CSU, Chico Office of the Provost and CELT wishes to recognize and encourage the development of exemplary online courses for students. To that end the Committee for Evaluation of Exemplary Online Courses (CEEOC) is charged with developing an evaluation tool to assess quality of online courses and a nomination process for recognizing courses as exemplary."

Committee Members

13 Faculty, 4 Staff, 2 Administrators, 1 Student

Nacer Bellaloui, Agriculture (F)
Aaron Bor, Communication Design (F)
Kay Cushing, Psychology (F)
Anne D'Arcy, English (F)
Bill Evans, Distributed Learning Technologies (S)
Kathy Fernandes, Academic Technologies (A)
Melinda Ferris, Student Computing (S)
Cris Guenter, Education (F)
Jim Jacob, Political Science (F)
Kathy Kaiser, Sociology (F)
Jon Knolle, Distributed Learning Technologies (S)
Yoshio Kusaba, Art History (F)
Rebecca Lytle, Physical Education (F)
Shannah Miilu, Technology and Learning Program (Student)
Andrea Pantoja, Psychology (F)
Laura Sederberg, Technology and Learning Program (S)
Patricia Smiley, Physical Education (F)
Dan Stuempfig, Psychology (F)
Tony Waters, Sociology (F)
Marilyn Winzenz, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (A)