Geography & Planning Department

Faculty & Staff

GEOP Faculty & Staff Group Picture

 

Faculty

Scott Brady

Brady, Scott
Professor

Butte Hall 523
530-898-5588
sbrady@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, American cultural landscapes, Central America and Mexico

Doctorate: PhD 1996,
Geography
Louisiana State University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Jacque Chase

Chase, Jacque
Professor, FERP

Latin American Studies Program Coordinator,
Certificate in Land Use and Environmental Planning Coordinator

Butte Hall 527
530-898-5587
jchase@csuchico.edu

Interests: Rural planning, population, Latin America, and Northern California
Doctorate: PhD 1993,
Urban Planning
University of California, Los Angeles

  • Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

    Biography: I grew up in California and became interested in learning Spanish at a young age. My fascination with Portuguese came later but is related to my dad’s love of Bossa Nova. I remember asking where Ipanema was. I studied abroad in Brazil while at UCLA. I received my M.A. in economics from a Brazilian university and did my dissertation research there as well. My areas of research and teaching are global development and land use planning with emphasis on rural-urban interface areas (California, Brazil, Portugal).

    Courses Taught: Human Geography, Global Economic Geography, Latin American Studies (introduction and capstone), Urban Geography, Research and Writing in Geography (our writing proficiency course), Study abroad courses Florianópolis, Brazil and Heredia, Costa Rica (USAC), Graduate course in land use planning, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Department of Geography

    Publications: list of publications

Dean Fairbanks

Fairbanks, Dean
Professor and Chair

Butte Hall 509B
530-898-5780
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu

Interests: Landscape ecology, bioclimatology, biogeography, land-use change, GIS, remote sensing
Doctorate: PhD 2001,
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Don Hankins

Hankins, Don
Professor

University Reserves Land Stewardship Coordinator, Latitude 39 Advisor

Butte Hall 539
530-898-4104
dhankins@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land restoration, pyrogeography, riparian habitats
Doctorate: PhD 2005,
Geography, Graduate Studies
University of California, Davis

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

LaDona Knigge

Knigge, LaDona
Associate Professor

Certificate in Geospatial Technology Coordinator

Butte Hall 533
530-898-5881
lknigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, urban gardens, community development, critical GIS
Doctorate: PhD 2006,
Geography
State University of New York, Buffalo

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Naomi Lazarus

Lazarus, Naomi
Assistant Professor

Butte Hall 525
530-898-6871
nlazarus@csuchico.edu

Interests: GIS, cartography, quantitative methods, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 2014,
Geography
University of Connecticut, Storrs
Eugenie Rovai

Rovai, Eugenie
Professor

Social Science Program Coordinator

Butte Hall 611
530-898-6091
erovai@csuchico.edu

Interests: Water, cartography, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 1991,
Geography
Clark University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Noriyuki Sato

Sato, Noriyuki
Associate Professor

Butte Hall 535
530-898-6219
nsato2@csuchico.edu

Interests: Applied climatology, climate change and impacts, transportation geography
Doctorate: PhD 2008,
Geography
Indiana University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Mark Stemen

Stemen, Mark
Associate Professor

Butte Hall 541
530-898-5428
mstemen@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability issues, historical geography, social change
Doctorate: PhD 1999,
History
University of Iowa

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Instructors

Owen Bettis

Bettis, Owen
Instructor

Butte Hall 517
898-6871
obettis@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Herman, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
898-3707
srherman@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, geographic education
Jeremy Miller

Miller, Jeremy
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
898-4550
jmiller@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability, environmental issues, outdoor education, physical geography
Ryan Miller

Miller, Ryan
Instructor

Butte Hall 517
898-6089
rgmiller@csuchico.edu

Interests: Economic geography, urban studies, GIS, physical geography
Robert Pierce

Pierce, Robert
Instructor

Butte Hall 502
898-4755
rpierce@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography
Steve Stewart

Stewart, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
898-6089
sstewart1@csuchico.edu

Interests: The American West, cartography, GIS

Stuart, Claudia
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
898-4858
cstuart@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land use planning, county and city development

Office Staff

Jessie Mendoza

Mendoza, Jessie
Administrative Support Coordinator I

Butte Hall 507
898-5285
jdmendoza@csuchico.edu

Interests: Ballroom dancing, fine dining, DJing
Ian Stufkosky

Stufkosky, Ian
Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507
898-5285

Interests: Biking, cooking