Geography & Planning Department

Faculty & Staff

GEOP Faculty & Staff Group Picture

 

Faculty

Scott Brady

Brady, Scott
Professor

Butte Hall 523
530-898-5588
sbrady@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, American cultural landscapes, Central America and Mexico

Doctorate: PhD 1996,
Geography
Louisiana State University

Jacque Chase

Chase, Jacque
Professor, FERP
Certificate in Land Use and Environmental Planning Coordinator

Butte Hall 527
530-898-5587
jchase@csuchico.edu

Interests: Rural planning, population, Latin America, and Northern California
Doctorate: PhD 1993,
Urban Planning
University of California, Los Angeles

Dean Fairbanks

Fairbanks, Dean
Professor

Butte Hall 533
530-898-5780
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu

Interests: Landscape ecology, bioclimatology, biogeography, land-use change, GIS, remote sensing
Doctorate: PhD 2001,

Ecology
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Don Hankins

Hankins, Don
Professor

University Reserves Land Stewardship Coordinator, Latitude 39 Advisor

Butte Hall 539
530-898-4104
dhankins@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land restoration, pyrogeography, riparian habitats
Doctorate: PhD 2005,
Geography, Graduate Studies
University of California, Davis

 

Biography & Publications

LaDona Knigge

Knigge, LaDona
Associate Professor and Chair

Certificate in Geospatial Technology Coordinator

Butte Hall 509B
530-898-5881
lknigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, urban gardens, community development, critical GIS
Doctorate: PhD 2006,
Geography
State University of New York, Buffalo

Naomi Lazarus

Lazarus, Naomi
Assistant Professor

Butte Hall 525
530-898-6871
nlazarus@csuchico.edu

Interests: GIS, cartography, quantitative methods, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 2014,
Geography
University of Connecticut, Storrs

 

Biography & Publications

Eugenie Rovai

Rovai, Eugenie
Professor

Social Science Program Coordinator

Butte Hall 611
530-898-6091
erovai@csuchico.edu

Interests: Water, cartography, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 1991,
Geography
Clark University

Noriyuki Sato

Sato, Noriyuki
Associate Professor

Butte Hall 535
530-898-6219
nsato2@csuchico.edu

Interests: Applied climatology, climate change and impacts, transportation geography
Doctorate: PhD 2008,
Geography
Indiana University

Mark Stemen

Stemen, Mark
Professor

Butte Hall 541
530-898-5428
mstemen@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability issues, historical geography, social change
Doctorate: PhD 1999,
History
University of Iowa

Instructors

Owen Bettis

Bettis, Owen
Instructor

Butte Hall 517
898-6871
obettis@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Herman

Herman, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
898-3707
srherman@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, geographic education

Jeremy Miller

Miller, Jeremy
Instructor

Butte Hall 508B
898-4550
jmiller@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability, environmental issues, outdoor education, physical geography

Robert Pierce

Pierce, Robert
Instructor

Butte Hall 502
898-4755
rpierce@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

Steve Stewart

Stewart, Steve
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
898-6089
sstewart1@csuchico.edu

Interests: The American West, cartography, GIS

Claudia Stuart

Stuart, Claudia
Instructor

Butte Hall 508A
898-4858
cstuart@csuchico.edu

Interests: Land use planning, county and city development

Office Staff

Jessie Mendoza

Mendoza, Jessie
Administrative Support Coordinator I

Butte Hall 507
898-5285
jdmendoza@csuchico.edu

Interests: Ballroom dancing, fine dining, DJing

Peter Hansen

Hansen, Peter
Information Technology Consultant II

Butte Hall 502
898-4755
pzhansen@csuchico.edu 

Interests: GIS, project management, music

Ian Stufkosky

Stufkosky, Ian
Student Assistant

Butte Hall 507
898-5285

Interests: Biking, cooking