Faculty and Staff

Faculty - Instructors - Staff - Faculty prior to Department Formation - Faculty after Department Formation

Group faculty photo

AS OF 11/17: FACULTY SCHEDULE AND OFFICE HOURS MAY HAVE CHANGED. Please contact GEOP Office if enrolled in GEOG 101-02, 03, 06, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, GEOG 105-01, or SOSC 210-02.

Faculty/Staff Schedule and Office Hours, Fall 2014

Courses Taught (Full List, incl. Faculty, Instructors, Staff)

See Matrix for Goal Del

Faculty

Scott Brady Brady, Scott
Professor
Butte Hall 523
898-5588
sbrady@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography,
Central America and Mexico

Doctorate: PhD 1996,
Geography
Louisiana State University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Jacque Chase

Chase, Jacque
Professor
Butte Hall 527
898-5587
jchase@csuchico.edu

Interests: Rural planning, population, Latin America, and Northern California
Doctorate: PhD 1993,
Urban Planning
University of California, Los Angeles

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Dean Fairbanks Fairbanks, Dean
Professor and Chair
Butte Hall 509B
898-5780
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu

Interests: Landscape ecology, bioclimatology, biogeography, land-use change, GIS, remote sensing
Doctorate: PhD 2001,
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Don Hankins Hankins, Don
Associate Professor
Butte Hall 539
898-4104
dhankins@csuchico.edu

Interests: Biogeography, pyrogeography, riparian habitats
Doctorate: PhD 2005,
Geography, Graduate Studies
University of California, Davis

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Guy King King, Guy
Professor
Butte Hall 517
898-4858
gking@csuchico.edu

Interests: Geomorphology, historical geography
Doctorate: PhD 1982,
Geography
University of Utah

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

LaDona Knigge Knigge, LaDona
Associate Professor
Butte Hall 533
898-5881
lknigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, urban gardens, community development, critical GIS
Doctorate: PhD 2006,
Geography
State University of New York, Buffalo

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

 Paul Zenope Melcon Melcon, Paul Zenope
Associate Professor
Butte Hall 525
898-6871
pmelcon@csuchico.edu

Interests: Remote sensing, GIS, hazards, physical geography
Doctorate: PhD 1979,
Department of Geography
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

 Eugenie Rovai Rovai, Eugenie
Professor and Coordinator of the Social Science Program
Butte Hall 611
898-6091
erovai@csuchico.edu

Interests: Water, cartography, hazards
Doctorate: PhD 1991,
Geography
Clark University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

new nori Sato, Noriyuki
Associate Professor
Butte Hall 535
898-6219
nsato2@csuchico.edu

Interests: Applied climatology, climate change and impacts, transportation geography
Doctorate: PhD 2008,
Geography
Indiana University

Biography, Courses Taught & Publicaitons

 Mark Stemen Stemen, Mark
Associate Professor
Butte Hall 541
898-5428
mstemen@csuchico.edu

Interests: Restoration, conservation, historical geography
Doctorate: PhD 1999,
History
University of Iowa

Biography, Courses Taught & Publications

Xining Yang

Yang, Xining
Assistant Professor
Butte Hall

Interests: GIScience, Geovisualization, Big Data Analytics, Web-GIS & Cartography, Qualitative GIS, Geography of Food and Health, Urban and Environmental Modeling
Doctorate: PhD2015,
Geography
The Ohio State University

Top of Page

Instructors

Owen Bettis

Bettis, Owen
Instructor
Butte Hall 525
898-6871
obettis@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

 Jim Claflin

Claflin, Jim
Instructor
Butte Hall 508
898-6081
jclaflin@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human geography, Middle East

Pam Figge

Figge, Pam
Instructor
Butte Hall 517
898-4858
pfigge@csuchico.edu

Interests: Site planning, environmental impact

 Steve Herman

Herman, Steve
Instructor
Butte Hall 508
898-3707
srherman@csuchico.edu

Interests: Human, geographic education

Jeremy Miller

Miller, Jeremy
Instructor
Butte Hall 517
898-4550
jmiller@csuchico.edu

Interests: Sustainability, environmental issues, outdoor education, gardening, and camping


Bob Pierce

Pierce, Robert
Instructor
Butte Hall 508
898-3707
rpierce@csuchico.edu

Interests: Physical geography

 Steve Stewart

Stewart, Steve
Instructor
Butte Hall 508
898-6089
sstewart1@csuchico.edu

Interests: The American West, cartography, and geographic information systems

Claudia Stuart

Stuart, Claudia
Instructor
Butte Hall 517
898-4858
cstuart@csuchico.edu

Interests: 


Top of Page

Staff

Cathie Benjamin Benjamin, Cathie
Lab Technician II
Butte Hall 502
898-4755
cbenjamin@csuchico.edu
Interests: Networks, GIS
Jessie Mendoza Mendoza, Jessie
Administrative Support Coordinator I
Butte Hall 507
898-5285
jdmendoza@csuchico.edu
Interests: Ballroom dancing, fine dining, DJing
Grace Patterson

Patterson, Grace
Student Assistant
Butte Hall 507
898-5285


 

 

Top of Page

Geography Faculty prior to Department Formation: 1889-1963

Name

Years Employed

Education

Year Deceased

Nota bene

Wilson Washington, A.B.

1889-1898

UC Berkeley

NA

 

Elmer I. Miller, Ph.D.

1899-1918

Columbia University

NA

 

Maxwell Adams, Ph.D.

1902-1907

Univ. of Chicago

NA

 

Clarence K. Studley, M.S.

1907-1945

UC Berkeley

1951

comment

Peveril Meigs III, Ph.D.

1929-1942

UC Berkeley

1979

comment

Fred Neumann, Ph.D.

1947-1958

Cornell University

NA

 

Bruce Ogilvie, Ph.D.

1951-1958

Clark University

2010

comment

 

Geography Faculty after Department Formation: 1964-2014

David W. Lantis, Ph.D.

1957-1988

The Ohio State University

2000

comment

Arthur Karinen, Ph.D.

1959-1986

Univ. of Maryland

2004

comment

Frank Jankunis, Ph.D.

1964-1968

UC Los Angeles

2013

comment

Ladd Johnson, Ph.D.

1965-1987

UC Los Angeles

 

 

Margaret Trussell, Ph.D.

1966-1985

Univ. of Oregon

1998

comment

Louis Mihalyi, Ph.D.

1967-1988

UC Los Angeles

 

 

Bruce Bechtol, Ph.D.

1968-2002

Univ. of Oregon

 

comment

Frank Seawall, Ph.D.

1969-1991

Pennsylvania State Univ.

 

 

Jerry Williams, Ph.D.

1969-2004

Univ. of Florida

 

 

Mutwakil Amin, Ph.D.

1970-1981

UC Los Angeles

1995

 

Ralph Meuter, Ph.D.

1970-2000

Univ. of Oklahoma

 

comment

William Collins, Ph.D., AICP

1972-2006

Univ. of Cincinnati

 

 

Edward Myles, Ph.D.

1972-2004

Michigan State Univ.

 

 

Gene Martin, Ph.D.

1973-1993

Syracuse Univ.

2014

 

Rolland Berger, Ph.D.

1973-1983

Univ. of Wisconsin

2011

comment

Richard Haiman, Ph.D.

1974-2003

UC Los Angeles

 

 

Paul Melcon, Ph.D.

1985-

Univ. of Wisconsin

 

 

Susan Hardwick, Ph.D.

1986-2000

UC Davis

 

 

Donald Holtgrieve, Ph.D., AICP

1988-2003

Univ. of Oregon

 

comment

Guy King, Ph.D.

1988-2015

Univ. of Utah

 

 

Susan Place, Ph.D.

1988-2008

UC Los Angeles

 

 

Christine Rodrigue, Ph.D.

1989-1999

Clark Univ.

 

 

Eugenie Rovai, Ph.D.

1991-

Clark Univ.

 

 

Bonnie Hallman, Ph.D.

1997-2001

Univ. of Guelph, Canada

 

 

Gary Peters, Ph.D.

1999-2004

Pennsylvania State Univ.

2012

comment

Scott Brady, Ph.D.

2000-

Louisiana State Univ.

 

 

Jacquelyn Chase, Ph.D.

2000-

UC Los Angeles

 

 

Mark Stemen, Ph.D.

2001-

Univ. of Iowa

 

 

Dean Fairbanks, Ph.D.

2003-

Univ. of Pretoria, South Africa

 

 

Don Hankins, Ph.D.

2005-

UC Davis

 

 

LaDona Knigge, Ph.D.

2006-

SUNY Buffalo

 

 

Nori Sato, Ph.D.

2008-

Indiana University