Scholarships and Awards

There are two types of awards: university scholarships, available to all students, and program scholarships, offered to students within particular programs and departments. Visit the Financial Aid Web site for more information on university scholarships.

The History Department offers the following program scholarships:

  • History Essay Award: Given to two history majors based on merit and need; graduate and undergraduate students eligible
  • Lois E. Christensen Scholarship: Given to a declared history major based on merit and need; graduates and undergraduates eligible
  • Professor E. I. Miller History Award: Given to a history major based largely on merit; upper division or graduate students eligible
  • Sarah Libby Mahood Merit Scholarship: Given to a female history major based on merit; seniors only
  • Lew D. Oliver Scholarship: Given to history or international relations major based on merit; upper division or graduate students eligible
  • Jacqueline Barnhart Memorial Scholarship: Given to a history major based upon merit and need; undergraduates only

To apply, complete a University Scholarship Application. The application deadline is December 15. Additionally, please solicit a letter of support from a history faculty member and attach it to the application cover sheet. Scholarships will be awarded toward the end of the Spring semester.

Research Awards for Graduate Students

The Lois McDonald Research Fund Award: up to $500 per year for research support

The applicant must be a graduate student working on an approved research subject. The chair of the student's thesis committee or the instructor of the course for which the project is being undertaken should certify, in writing, that the research topic has been approved. The money is to be used only for research away from the CSU, Chico campus to cover expenses such as travel costs, lodging, food, photocopying, film, and audio- and videotaping. The research may be conducted at any time during the calendar year. The money may not be used for costs of typing, or copying, a thesis or paper.

The Clarence McIntosh-William Hutchinson Memorial Research Scholarship in California and Western History: annual awards totaling $1,000

Annual awards totaling $1,000 to graduate students working on any topic related to the history of California and/or the American West. The proceeds of the award are to be used to defray any and all off-campus research related expenses such as transportation, fuel, food, lodging, archival use and duplication fees, etc. The award may also be used to cover the costs of attending professional conferences for the purpose of presenting scholarly papers. Please solicit a letter of support from a history faculty member.

Students interested in either the McDonald Award or the McIntosh-Hutchinson Scholarship should contact Professor Emmerich for more information. The application deadline for both scholarships is March 1.

The Glenn and Dorothy Dumke Fellowship for Graduate Students in California History: annual awards ranging from $500 to $1,500. This is not a History Department scholarship - it is open to all CSU graduate students.

Fellowship offered to full-time graduate students whose cumulative undergraduate point average is 3.0 or above and who have a specific interest in California history.

Applications are available from the graduate coordinator. Annual application deadline around April 15.