Participating Faculty

Dean Fairbanks
Geography and Planning
Butte 527
530-898-5780
dhfairbanks@csuchico.edu
Ten years in southern Africa, landscape ecology. Mostly in South Africa but also a year at Banda College in Malawi.

David Eaton
Anthropology
Butte 317
530-898-4185
daeaton@csuchico.edu
Research in east and equatorial Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, both Congos, Cameroon...).  Public health, medical anthropology, music, social change.

Hope M. Smith
Music Department
PAC 203
530-898-6128
hmsmith@csuchico.edu
Research in Trinidadian and African music.

Tony Waters
Sociology
twaters@csuchico.edu
Research and teaching in Tanzania.

Joel Zimbelman
Dean HFA
jzimbelman@csuchico.edu
Childhood in Cameroon, and connections with DR Congo, Rwanda through Lutheran church programs. 

James Luyirika-Sewagudde
Academic Advising, International Studies
SSC 440
530-898-5721
jluyirika-sewagudde@csuchico.edu

Rich Rosecrance
Agriculture
Plumas 223
530-898-5699
rrosecrance@csuchico.edu
South Af Cape Town Fulbright.

Ray Boykin
Director of Technical and Special Programs, CSU, Chico College of Business
Glenn 111
530-898-5895
rboykin@csuchico.edu
Work with NGO West Africa partners in Sierra Leone during Summer 2009, and before.

Chau Johnsen Kelly
UCD History PhD
cjkelly@ucdavis.edu

Has commuted to Chico weekly to teach AFRI 100 and AFRI 300.  Specialist in coastal Tanzanian history. 

Jeanne Christopherson
jkristoffer22@hotmail.com
Teaches AFRI 115 African dance class at CSU, Chico.

Janelle Gardner
Nursing
Holt 355
jgardner@csuchico.edu
Goes to Africa, in Uganda; has sent nursing students to Africa Impact program in Zambia.

Laurie Wermuth
Sociology
lwermuth@csuchico.edu
Research on struggles for health in central Africa; interests in nutrition and food security.  Author: Global Inequality and Human Needs, with African case studies.

Walt Schafer
Emeritus prof.
Chico Rotary Club matching grant project in Tanzania. Connection with Stefano Moshi Memorial University College in Moshi area, northern Tanzania, near Mt. Kilimanjaro.  SMMUCo is interested in hosting a CSU, Chico faculty member with a specialization in the areas of Accountancy, Information Technology, Hospitality, or Education, and/or assistance with developing teaching/learning materials, developing funding proposals, assistance in establishing links with U.S. universities, and in general sharing expertise to help this fledgling institution grow.