Feb 10, 2014Vol. 44, Issue 3

Rawlins Scholarship Winners Shine

Seventeen California State University, Chico students with major achievements in the classroom and community were honored at the 32nd annual Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins Merit Scholarship Reception on Oct. 15. 

Established in 1981 in honor of Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins, who died piloting a B-29 over Tokyo Bay during World War II, the award recognizes scholarship, extracurricular activities, and professionally-related and academic accomplishments. Faculty members nominate recipients, who receive scholarships of $3,000.

The scholarship program is one of the largest and most prestigious at CSU, Chico; since its inception, more than $1.4 million in scholarships has been awarded to more than 900 CSU, Chico students.

“We know these students are on a trajectory for success,” said Rick Ellison, vice president for University Advancement, during the campus presentation. “They share a diversity of interests and a sense of giving back, and are representative of what makes Chico State special.

The 2013–2014 Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins Merit Scholarship recipients are Nikita Benson (BSS), Alyvia Berryhill (BUS), Zina Bonham (CME), John Brunk (CME), Jose Cerda (CME), Jessica Downey (BUS), Brandon Durkin (BUS), Amie French (AGR), Madison Garshasebi (BSS), Kyle Heise (HFA), Emiliee Hunt (BSS), Christopher Navarrete (HFA), Stephen Phillips (ECC), Michael Pierce (NSC), Alison Saechao (HFA), Ryan Santana-Hart (NSC), and Alex Stanton (NSC).

—Photo by Kate Adams