Sept 8, 2015Vol. 46, Issue 1

Welcome, New Faculty!

Play the slideshow to meet the new cohort of tenure-track faculty, captured in a playful photoshoot by University Photographer Jason Halley. 

The University welcomes 47 new tenure-track faculty members this academic year, the second in a three-year hiring effort. This cohort’s wide-ranging specialties and award-winning research promise to strengthen CSU, Chico’s academic programs and enhance student learning.

New faculty are

College of Natural Sciences

Hannah Aird, Geological and Environmental Sciences
Lauren Atwell, Nutrition and Food Science
Amanda Banet, Biological Sciences
Kristen Kaczynski, Geological and Environmental Sciences
Gena Knipe, Nursing
Susan Modlin, Nursing
Nicholas Nelson, Physics
Edward Roualdes, Mathematics and Statistics
Jane Scheer, Nursing
Monica So, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Benjamin Van Dusen, Science Education

College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Sarah Anderson, International Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Hannah Burdette, International Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Erin Kelly, English
Allison Madar, History
Bradley Martin, Music and Theatre
Matthew Miller, Music and Theatre
Jerome Pouwels, Art and Art History

College of Agriculture

Jude Bayham
Michael Chao
Kishore Joseph
Garrett Liles

College of Business

Gary Braun, Accounting
Ghadir Ishqaidef, Management
Qingzhong Ma, Finance and Marketing
Arash Negahban, Business Information Systems
Bonnie Persons, Management
Sohyoun Shin, Finance and Marketing
Wei Zhang, Finance and Marketing

College of Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management

Jared DeBock, Civil Engineering
Meghdad (Amin) Hajimorad, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Essia Hamouda, Computer Science
Dennis O’Connor, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering and Sustainable Manufacturing

College of Communication and Education

Feng He, Kinesiology
Jennifer Malkowski, Communication Arts and Sciences
Shawna Malvini Redden, Communication Arts and Sciences
Aubrey Newland, Kinesiology
Rebecca Ormond, Communication Design

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Danielle Hidalgo, Sociology
Adam Irish, Political Science
Patrick Johnson, Psychology
Donna Kreskey, Psychology
William Nitzky, Anthropology
Stanley Salinas, Health and Community Services
Doris Schartmueller, Political Science
Janine Stone, Economics
Xining Yang, Geography and Planning

—Sarah Langford, Editor



Retired WREC staff Wayne Murray was the recipient of the 2014 Staff Safety Award. Plus, faculty and staff achievements since spring 2015. Read more.



We asked our social media followers how they've been molded by Chico State as part of a Forbes’ campaign. Here are a few of our favorites. See Storify.