Target 2000 Technology Committee

*Inactive Historical Committee*


"Throughout society the explosion of information technology is changing how America does business and provides services. At California State University, Chico we have risen to the challenge and have worked to provide students the technology they require to thrive in our student-centered learning environment. We believe the future of the university is firmly linked to the reasoned integration of technology into an environment of education excellence."

Manuel A. Esteban, President
California State University, Chico

Chico's master plan for technology integration, Target 2000, provides the framework for prioritizing investments for implementing technology which will support the university mission and obtain the highest level of student outcomes. It is not only central to CSU, Chico's "Strategic Plan for the Future," but Target 2000 also supports and leverages the California State University system's Integrated Technology Strategies Initiatives effort. The results of this planning are an enhanced culture of education through excellence and innovation in teaching and learning.

The 1994 California State University, Chico's Presidential Task Force of the Future noted that the University needed to foster the further development of the electronic learning community that links knowledge, curricula and clientele in innovative configurations. Since 1995, CSU, Chico has been systematically building that electronic student-centered learning environment. Our goal is to have the building blocks in place by September 2000.

Meeting Minutes

Back to Top

Committee Members

The Target 2000 committee is composed of cross-campus representation including members from Academic Senate, Regional and Continuing Education, Associated Students, Student Affairs, Information Resources, and the Colleges of Agriculture; Behavioral and Social Sciences; Business; Communication and Education; Engineering, Computer Science and Technology; Humanities and Fine Arts, and Natural Sciences. The committee reports to Fred Ryan, vice provost for Information Resources.

Charge: The Target 2000 Technology Team is charged with providing advice and assistance for the planning effort required to implement the goals set by the Target 2000 Information Technology Plan for California State University, Chico. The Team will be actively involved in developing implementation options. This team represents a somewhat different type of task- oriented advisory group with a much closer tie to operations and implementation. The Target 2000 Technology Team charge includes working with students, faculty, and administration to build Chico's electronic learning community. The Team will also be responsible for recommending expected revisions to the Target 2000 plan based upon evolving technological opportunities.

Note: The Target 2000 Team is a direct continuation of the original President's Task Force Technology Sub-Group, and the description above represents an ongoing formalizing of the group's charge and membership. The Team has been actively working on implementation issues for over a year now, and the formal selection process described above will be fully in place by next (96/97) academic year.

1996 to 1999

  • Bill Post, chair, Academic Resources
  • Steve Adams, Accounting and Management Info. Systems
  • Jeff Bell, Biological Sciences
  • Melody Callan, Computer Science
  • Dave Cook, Student Affairs
  • Roy Crosbie, Computer Science
  • Dan Crozier, Communications Services
  • Carolyn Dusenbury, Library Services
  • Jon Ebeling, Academic Senate
  • Don Graham, Student Affairs
  • Chris Guenter, College of Communication and Education
  • Tajil Hill, Associated Students
  • Robert James, Academic Senate
  • Annette Levi/Todd Lone, College of Agriculture
  • Jessica Lusardi, Associated Students
  • Ben Martz, Accounting and Management Info. Systems
  • Ralph Meuter, Regional and Continuing Education
  • Randy Miller, Chemistry
  • Debbie McElroberts, Computing Services
  • Jim Mensching, Accounting and Management Info. Systems
  • Vernon Patrick, Art and Art History
  • John Roussell, Communication Design
  • Kay Schenk, Computing Services
  • Larry Schmunk, Instructional Media Center
  • Keith Seppanen, Music
  • Frederica Shockley, Economics
  • Jack Strick, Computing Services
  • Beverly Taylor, Information Resources
  • Dan Toy, Marketing
  • Tom Welsh, Communication Design
  • Chuck Worth, Institutional Research

Back to Top