Below is a list of scholarships available to currently enrolled CSU, Chico journalism students and to transfer students and incoming freshmen who have declared journalism as a major. For more information on scholarships, students should consult their major adviser and refer to the journalism department bulletin board outside Tehama 207.

University scholarship applications are available at CSU, Chico Scholarship Center. Deadline is Dec. 15. Journalism majors should include an essay explaining what attracted them to the journalism major and what their career goals might be.

*Prospective CSU, Chico students should contact the Financial Aid & Scholarship Office for information regarding scholarships.*

Michael John Edridge Memorial Scholarship

  • Criteria are financial for freshmen and sophomores.

A.H. Weibel & A.W. Bramwell Scholarship

  • Criteria for the award include scholarship, aptitude, interest and demonstration of a natural talent for writing. It is awarded to students in the field of journalism or telecommunication, including broadcast journalism.

Moyna O' Rourke Public Relations Scholarship
Orion Award
Tehama Group Communications Award
Marysville Appeal Democrat Journalism Scholarship 
(for students who live in Yuba County)
Tom R. Hennion Scholarship
Scripps Howard Foundation Scholarship
William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship
Pat and Rowland "Reb" Rebele Scholarship
Bob Vivian Public Relations Scholarship