Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Faculty Research

Jorgen Berglund

Phone: 530-898-5350
Office: Holt 220
Email: jjberglund@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Specialized mathematical knowledge for K-12 teacher of mathematics
  • Effective professional development for teachers of mathematics
  • Curricular design of mathematics courses for prospective K-12 mathematics teachers
  • Access and equity in mathematics programs and classes

Colette Calmelet

Phone: 530-898-6895
Office: Holt 212
Email: ccalmelet@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Biomathematics - Mathematical modeling and simulations of biological problems
  • Cell movements in developmental biology, zebra fish gastrulation, angiogenesis of the mouse retina
  • Cancer stem cells hypothesis
  • Dynamics in peritoneal dialysis
  • Bioinformatics - Mathematical methods in sequence analysis
  • Fluid dynamics - Study of multi-phase flows, micropolar fluids, porous media, blood flow through capillaries

Nancy Carter

Phone: 530-898-6562
Office: Holt 150
Email: ncarter@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Applied Statistics
  • Sampling
  • Regression
  • Experimental Design
  • Statistical Consulting

Robin Donatello

Phone: 530-898-5767
Office: Holt 202
Email: rdonatello@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Applied Biostatistics 
  • Data Visualization
  • Techniques to handle missing & inconsistent data
  • Computational Statistics, Data Science, Big Data
  • Organizer of the Chico R Users Group
  • Co-Organizer of the Data Science Community of Interest

Sergei Fomin

Phone: 530-898-5274
Office: Holt 208
Email: sfomin@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Mathematical modeling of mass transport in complex media
  • Mathematical modeling of tsunami wave dynamics
  • Mathematical modeling of non-Newtonian films in application to coating technology and polymer molding
  • Principal investigator of the NSF grant: Research Experiences in Mathematics for Undergraduates and Teachers (amount $270,000, years 2016-2019)

Kathy Gray

Phone: 530-898-4095
Office: Holt 108
Email: klgray@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Research interests focus on applying statistical techniques to the design, analysis, and interpretation of data arising from environmental studies
  • Bayesian statistics, analysis of large data sets, and randomization methods

LaDawn Haws

Phone: 530-898-5271
Office: Holt 218
Email: lhaws@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Mathematics Education
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Physics and Engineering applications
  • History of Mathematics
  • Recreational Mathematics

Christine Herrera

Phone: 530-898-5492
Office: Holt 110
Email: caherrera@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Mathematics Education
  • Pre-service School Teacher Development
  • Undergraduate Proof Comprehension
  • Productive Struggle
  • Understanding and destroying the barriers facing members of groups who have been historically underrepresented in mathematics
  • Active Learning

Chris Marks

Phone: 530-898-5063
Office: Holt114
Email: cemarks@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Number Theory
  • Automorphic Function Theory

M.E. Matthews

Phone: 530-898-5469
Office: Holt 214
Email: mrmatthews@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Mathematics Education
  • Pre-service & In-service School Teacher Development
  • Teacher Experiences as Learner
  • Faculty Professional Development
  • Classroom Discourse
  • Technology in Mathematics Instruction
  • PI on CDE MSP grant: (MathTIME)
  • Project Director-NGMT under USDOE TQP  grant PRISMS

Thomas Mattman

Phone: 530-898-5603
Office: Holt 313
Email: tmattman@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Knot Theory
  • Graph Theory
  • Mentoring Research by Undergraduate & Master's students
  • Math of Blues Music
  • Odd Sunshades
  • Square Knot Dancing

Kevin McGown

Phone: 530-898-4083
Office: Holt 341
Email: kmcgown@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Number Theory

Vladimir Rosenhaus

Phone: 530-898-4108
Office: Holt 219
Email: vrosenhaus@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Mathematical Physics
  • Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
  • Nonlinear Wave Equations
  • Symmetry Lie Algebras
  • Conserved Quantities
  • Infinite Symmetries
  • Infinite Conservation Laws

Edward Roualdes

Phone: 530-898-5807
Office: Holt 204
Email: eroualdes@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Hierarchical Linear Modeling
  • Penalized Regression
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Ecological Modeling

Krista Strand

Phone: 530-898-5472
Office: Holt 106
Email: klstrand@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • K-8 pre-service teacher's development of mathematical knowledge
  • Curriculum and instruction in mathematics for K-8 pre-service teachers
  • K-8 teacher professional development

Steve Strand

Phone: 530-898-3239
Office: Holt 315
Email: srstrand@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Undergraduate student thinking about calculus, real analysis, and related topics
  • Undergraduate student thinking about proof reading/writing
  • Inquiry-oriented, student-centered instructional design
  • Research website

Daniel Vallieres

Phone: 530-898-5490
Office: Holt 116
Email: dvallieres@csuchico.edu

Research Interest

  • Number Theory