Important Dates and Information for New and Transfer Students

elcome to California State University, Chico!

We are very excited to have you become part of our dynamic Department of Music and Theatre and wish you great success. 

Important Music Major Information

There are some very important events/dates that we want to bring to your attention as a music student:

DATE TIME LOCATION
Piano/Keyboard Proficiency Exam* Wednesday, January 25 1:00pm-2:00pm PAC 208
Theory Placement Exam* TBA TBA GLENN 304
Aural Skills Exam* TBA TBA PAC 112
Studio Instruction Auditions:
  • Brass
TBA TBA PAC 132
  • Woodwinds
TBA TBA PAC 132
  • Vocal Studio Placement
Monday January 23, 2017 3:00-6:00pm PAC 134
  • Guitar
TBA TBA PAC 112
  • Piano
TBA TBA PAC 208
  • Percussion
TBA TBA PAC 132
  • A Cappella Choir
TBA TBA PAC 134
Majors w/Options in: Pre-Recording Arts & Music Industry TBA TBA PAC 134

***REQUIRED*** New Music Major Meeting

Friday, January 27

11:00-12:00pm

PAC 134

For TBA Auditions please contact the following Faculty to set up a time:

Theory Placement – Contact David Dvorin- ddvorin@csuchico.edu

Aural Skills – Contact Royce Tevis- rtevis@csuchico.edu

Brass Studio – Contact Lloyd Roby-lroby@csuchico.edu

Woodwind Studio – Contact Yael Ronen- yronen@csuchico.edu

Guitar – Contact Tobin Roye- troye@csuchico.edu

Percussion – Contact Dan Kinkle- dkinkle@csuchico.edu

Bass/Jazz – Contact Rocky Winslow- mrwinslow@csuchico.edu

Choirs – Contact David Scholz- dmscholz@csuchico.edu

Wind Ensemble/Band – Contact Royce Tevis

SIGN UP SHEETS for exams/auditions/interviews will be posted in the department office (PAC 106) beginning Monday, January 1, 2017.  Please stop by, or call the office (530-898-5152) if you are out of town, to sign up for an exam/audition/ interview time.  Make sure you have made the appropriate meeting appointments.

*Note:  You are required to take the theory, aural skills, and piano proficiency exam unless you plan to take MUSC 101, MUSC 103, and MUSC 105.  These exams are for evaluation and course placement purposes for those with experience.

Ensemble auditions will be held during the week prior to the beginning of the semester and the first week of classes. Check with the appropriate ensemble director and/or the department office for scheduled times.

Advising is critically important to your college career.  Our department has mandatory advising for all music majors. Mandatory advising helps us make your academic career a successful one by guiding you through your Major Plan each semester.

Here’s how it works: each semester we do group advising, by your Option. This advising session takes place three weeks prior to the opening of the next semester’s registration. Any student that doesn’t receive advising will have a hold placed on their record and you will not be able to register for classes. To lift the hold you will need to meet with your advisor.  The Faculty Advisors for the music majors are:

General Music:

Music Industry and Recording Arts:

  • Dr. Hope Munro
  • Dr. Michelle McConkey
  • Prof. Rocky Winslow
  • Dr. Natalya Shkoda
  • Prof. David Dvorin
  • Prof. Daniel Sargent
  • Prof. Alek Palmersmith

All music majors are required an Apple Laptop. Additional hardware and software will be required for Recording Arts majors and students emphasizing Composition.

To view the details of the computer information go to: Computer Requirement