CSU, Chico News

Chico State Animation Students Bring Home Top Awards Again

Date: 11-15-2007

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs
Clarke Steinback
Applied Computer Graphics

Students from Clarke Steinback’s video game development class at California State University, Chico, brought home the top award for Best Interactive Media at the CSU Media Arts Festival, held at CSU, Channel Islands Nov. 3. This is a competition among the 23 CSU campuses.

The interactive media that won first place was a video game, “Stalks,” created by students Nathan Harling, Chris Funk, Todd Brown and Josiah Koons.

CSU, Chico student Kentaro Nagase won third place in the Animation category with his piece, “Orgel.” Nagase produced his animation as part of his master’s project working with instructor Rick Vertolli.

Fifth-place Animation winner was Evan Worley, for “Six to One Odds.” Worley produced his animation while taking instructor John Pozzi’s 2-D animation class.

CSU, Chico student Basak Erol won second place for Music Video for her piece, “Don’t Lose Yourself.” This was an independent project with components created in John Pozzi’s 2-D animation class and Jennifer Meadow’s video production class.

The Media Arts Festival has five categories: Narrative, Music Video, Interactive Media, Experimental and Animation. Chico traditionally has done very well in the animation category. In past competitions, CSU, Chico students have won the “Best of Show” for their animation four times in the 16 years since the competition began and “Best Animation” nine times. This is the first year CSU, Chico has won top awards in the Interactive Media category.

Ken Derucher, dean of the College of Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management, said, “The Applied Computer Graphics Program instructors have an excellent teaching style and have the ability to bring out the best in their students. We are proud of the students who did such a fine job on their projects, and we are proud to have such top-notch instructors in our program.”

The Applied Computer Graphics Program is in its fifth year as an approved major. Faculty members include Clark Steinback, Rick Vertolli, Frank Pereira and John Pozzi.