CSU, Chico News

Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award Honors Communications Sciences Graduate Student

Date: 08-18-2008

Kathleen McPartland
Public Affairs

Graduate student Marycarmen Rosales, who is pursuing a master’s degree in communication sciences and disorders at California State University, Chico, has received the prestigious 2008 William R. Hearst/CSU Trustee’s Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The Trustees’ Award provides financial support to students who show superior academic performance, community service and personal accomplishments in the face of personal hardship and challenges.

Rosales is the 11th CSU, Chico student to receive the award since 1993. There are a total of 21 awards of $3,000 given in the state. In addition, Rosales also was designated as the Trustee Emeritis Murray L. Galinson Scholar, which carries an additional award of $6,000.

Rosales arrived from Mexico at age seven speaking no English. In May 2007, her peers chose her as the graduation speaker for the CSU, Chico Latino Graduation Celebration. She spent her summer as an intern at the UC Davis Medical Center, working with patients who have communication disorders.

Although Rosales’s parents had only elementary school educations, they encouraged her to obtain a higher education. Her sister introduced her to a speech pathologist who worked for the Head Start Program in Napa, and, after shadowing her in her work and researching the field, Rosales chose her future career.

Rosales’s experiences as an immigrant to the United States who had to learn a new language has given her an understanding and empathy for non-native speakers as well as others who need help being understood. She has mentored many children and adolescents, both inside and outside her family. “I’ve taught them not only to accept, but also embrace language and cultural and racial differences,” she said.

Rosales wrote in her letter of application that “Educating people, both young and old, to become more accepting of communication differences, or any other differences, will always be a focus of mine.”

The previous awardees from CSU, Chico are Elizabeth Coudright (2004), Ben Seigler (2003), Diana Fazlic (2002), Patty Cotter (2001), Aimee Webb (2000), Lynn Wirt (1996), Kelly Baylor (1995), David Ware (1993), Anna Sorensen (2006), and Kevin Brady (2007).

Rosales will be attending the CSU Trustees meeting in September, where she will be recognized for her achievements.