CSU, Chico Will Hold 121st Commencement

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Date: 05-16-2011

Joe Wills
Public Affairs
530-898-4143

State Assemblyman Jim Nielsen, 2nd District, will speak at California State University, Chico’s 121st Commencement Saturday, May 21, and Sunday, May 22. In addition, several programs and groups will hold receptions and special ceremonies, including a ceremony for master’s graduates on Friday, May 20.

Approximately 1,200 students are expected to receive bachelor’s degrees on Saturday and approximately 1,600 students Sunday in the University Stadium. The ceremonies for the class of 2011 will start promptly at 9 a.m. and will take about two hours each and will be held rain or shine. Tickets are not required for admission.

Saturday’s commencement exercises will include graduates from the Colleges of Communication and Education (including Liberal Studies), Humanities and Fine Arts, and Natural Sciences. Sunday’s exercises will include graduates from the Colleges of Agriculture, Behavioral and Social Sciences, Business, and Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management.

In addition to Assemblyman Nielsen, CSU, Chico President Paul Zingg will speak at both ceremonies. Spencer Breese Blair, a graduating senior from the College of Communication and Education, will speak on Saturday. Kaitlyn Whitney Percival, a graduating senior in the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, will speak on Sunday.

Elected in 2008, Nielsen serves as the vice chair of the Assembly Budget Committee, and as a member of the Appropriations, Veterans Affairs, and Rules committees. He authored the original “Review of Master Plan for Higher Education” and, in 2010, served on the Joint Committee on the Master Plan for Higher Education, which worked at defining a vision for the future of higher education in California. The 2nd Assembly District includes Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama and Yolo counties. 

Below is a listing of Commencement ceremonies and celebrations:

Thursday, May 19, 2011:

Asian Graduation Celebration-NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
Ruth Rowland Taylor-PAC 134, 6–8 p.m.
Contact:
Tray Robinson, 898-4764, trobinson@csuchico.edu  

Recognition of Credential Candidates – School of Education Celebration- TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
Laxson Auditorium, 6:30–8:30 p.m.
Contact:
Maggie Payne, CME Associate Dean: 898-4570; mpayne@csuchico.edu    

Friday, May 20: 

Nurses Pinning – NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location
: Bell Memorial Auditorium, 4–7 p.m.
Contact
: Julie Garnett: 898-5891, jgarnett@csuchico.edu  

Graduate—Master’s Degree Ceremony – TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
Laxson Auditorium, 7–9 p.m.
Contact:
Jeanette Trombley: 898-6880, jtrombley@csuchico.edu      

Saturday, May 21: 

CSU, CHICO COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY
Location:
University Stadium- 9:00–11:15 a.m.
Contact:
Commencement Office, 898-6472, commencement@csuchico.edu
Communication and Education, Humanities & Fine Arts, Natural Sciences 

Latino Commencement – TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
Laxson 1–3 p.m.
Contact:
Carol Robinson, 898-6831, crobinson@csuchico.edu  

Black Commencement Celebration – NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
PAC 144 (Performing Arts Center) (Harlen Adams) 2–4 p.m.
Contact:
Tray Robinson, 898-4764, trobinson@csuchico.edu  

ECC Graduation Celebration –
Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management – TICKETS REQUIRED
Location:
Laxson Auditorium, 4:30–6:30 p.m.
Contact:
ECC, 898-5963; Terry Battle, 898-4898, tbattle@csuchico.edu  

College of Agriculture Graduation Reception
Location:
University Farm Arboretum, 5:30 p.m.
Contact:
Susie Funk, 898-5844, sfunk@csuchico.edu 

College of Natural Sciences Reception
Location:
Physical Science Building-immediately after ceremonies
Contact:
Linda Duarte, 898-3489, lduarte@csuchico.edu    

Sunday, May 22:

CSU, CHICO COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY
Location:
University Stadium- 9:00–11:15 a.m.
Contact:
Commencement Office, 898-6472, commencement@csuchico.edu
Agriculture, Behavioral and Social Sciences, Business, Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management 

College of Behavioral & Social Sciences Awards Ceremony
Location:
Breezeways between Plumas and Butte Halls, 7:15–8:00 a.m.
Contact:
Jody Prusia, 898-3022, jprusia@csuchico.edu

###