CSU, Chico Will Hold 122nd Commencement

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Date: 05-09-2012

Joe Wills
Public Affairs
530-898-4143

California State University, Chico alumna and Cisco Systems co-founder Sandy Lerner will speak at the University’s 122nd Commencement Saturday, May 19, and Sunday, May 20. In addition, several programs and groups will hold receptions and special ceremonies, including two ceremonies for master’s graduates on Friday, May 18.

Lerner and political analyst and campaign manager Ed Rollins are receiving honorary doctorates conferred by the CSU Board of Trustees and CSU, Chico during this year’s Commencement weekend.

Approximately 1,600 students are expected to receive bachelor’s degrees on Saturday and approximately 1,200 students Sunday in the University Stadium. The ceremonies for the class of 2012 will start promptly at 9 a.m. and will take about two hours each and will be held rain or shine. Tickets are not required for admission.

Saturday’s commencement exercises will include graduates from the colleges of Agriculture; Behavioral and Social Sciences; Business; and Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management. Sunday’s exercises will include graduates from the colleges of Communication and Education (including Liberal Studies), Humanities and Fine Arts, and Natural Sciences.

In addition to Lerner, Brian Thomas Peart, a graduating senior in concrete industry management and business administration, will speak Saturday. Nicole MacDougall, a graduating senior in history and international relations, will speak on Sunday.

Below is a listing of other 2012 Commencement ceremonies and celebrations:

Thursday, May 17, 2012:

Asian Graduation Celebration - NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Harlen Adams Theatre (PAC 144), 6-8 p.m.
Contact: Tray Robinson, 898-4764, trobinson@csuchico.edu

College of Business Honors and Awards Ceremony
Location: Bell Memorial Union Auditorium, 4-6 p.m.
Contact: Kelli Brown, 898-6272, bus@csuchico.edu

Recognition of Credentials Candidates, School of Education Celebration - TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Laxson Auditorium, 6:30-8:30 p.m.
Contact: Debbie Summers, Chair: 898-6421, dsummers@csuchico.edu

Friday, May 18, 2012:

Nurses Pinning - NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Bell Memorial Auditorium, 4-7 p.m.
Contact: Julie Garnett: 898-5891, jgarnett@csuchico.edu

College of Agriculture Graduation Reception
Location: University Farm Arboretum, 5:30 p.m.
Contact: Susie Funk, 898-5844, sfunk@csuchico.edu

Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management Graduation Celebration - TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Laxson Auditorium, 1 p.m.
Contact: ECC, 898-5963 or Gale Carrillo, 898-4963, gcarrillo@csuchico.edu 

Graduate-Master's Degree Ceremony - TICKETS REQUIRED
Behavioral and Social Sciences
Humanities and Fine Arts
Interdisciplinary Studies
Natural Sciences
Location: Laxson Auditorium, 4:30 p.m. (students assemble at 3:45 p.m.)
Contact: Jeanette Trombley, 898-6880, jtrombley@csuchico.edu

Graduate-Master's Degree Ceremony - TICKETS REQUIRED
Business
Communication and Education
Engineering, Computer Science and Construction Management
Location: Laxson Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. (students assemble at 6:45 p.m.)
Contact: Jeanette Trombley, 898-6880, jtrombley@csuchico.edu

Saturday, May 19, 2012:

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Award Ceremony
Location: Breezeways between Plumas and Butte Halls, 7:1 -8 a.m.
Contact: Jody Prusia, 898-3022, jprusia@csuchico.edu

Latino Commencement - TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Laxson Auditorium, 1-3 p.m.
Contact: Carol Robinson, 898-6831, crobinson@csuchico.edu

Black Commencement Celebration - NO TICKETS REQUIRED
Location: Harlen Adams Theatre (PAC 144), 2 - 4 p.m.
Contact: Tray Robinson, 898-4764, trobinson@csuchico.edu

Sunday, May 20, 2012:

College of Natural Sciences Reception
Location: Physical Science Building, immediately after ceremonies
Contact: Andy Schafer, 898-6121, aschafer@csuchico.edu

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Awards Ceremony
Location: Breezeways between Plumas and Butte Halls, 7:15–8 a.m.
Contact: Jody Prusia, 898-3022, jprusia@csuchico.edu

###