UPDATE: Classes suspended until Nov. 26. Campus is safe, closed through Nov. 23. More information...
CSU, Chico News

Model United Nations Team Takes Home Top Regional Award

Date: 12-18-2013

Sarah Langford
Public Affairs
John Crosby, professor
Department of Political Science

Students participating in the Model United Nations (MUN) course at California State University, Chico brought home the top award from the Northwest MUN Conference Nov. 22-24 in Seattle, Wash.

The team of 41 students received the Outstanding Delegation award at the conference, which gathers 400 students from more than 21 colleges and universities for three days of research, meetings and debates. In addition to the top award, the students garnered 15 out of 31 possible individual awards. While the CSU, Chico students represented less than 10 percent of students in attendance, they took nearly half of all awards presented.

At the conference, each student was assigned a country to represent within six specific committees: the General Assembly, the United Nations Environment Program, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the Economic and Social Council, Reformed Security Council and the Security Council. In addition, they researched two to three topics related to their country and committee; topics ranged from “Private Sector Involvement in Sustainable Development” to “The Situation in the Syrian Arab Republic” to working on a treaty to address environmentally displaced persons.

The Outstanding Delegation award went to CSU, Chico students representing Russia, Ethiopia, Cuba, the Republic of Korea, Jordan, Venezuela, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Belgium, Kuwait, New Zealand and Myanmar. In addition to the overall delegation award, Joseph Aceret, Tracy Dudick, Sadie Foster, Emily Grose, Gavin Keating, Megumi Kimuro, Aislinn Martin and Aaron Thao received Position Paper awards for their pre-conference research. Mallorie Hayes and James Smith received Outstanding Delegate awards. Larson Angelis, Emily Grose, Michael Johnson, Jordan Silva and Aaron Thao received Distinguished Delegate awards for their representation of their countries.

The MUN program is an intensive program aimed at helping students develop their research, writing, debate, speech and diplomatic skills. The regional conference prepares students to participate in the National MUN conference held each spring, where CSU, Chico teams have taken the Outstanding Delegation award six of the last seven years.

Routinely ranked in the top 5 percent of all participating delegations, the University’s team is taught and run entirely by student officers elected from the previous year’s class. This year’s officers are Brynn Beck, Nigel Bocanegra-Speed, Gary Boyd, Laura Napoliello, and James Proffer. Political science professor John Crosby, who teaches the MUN course, said the student mentors play an important role in developing a strong delegation each year.

“The student officers are the heart of the program and major contributors to the success of our MUN program,” Crosby said.

This spring, 23 students will represent Malaysia at the national conference in New York City April 17-21. In addition, the University will send 11 students to the Harvard National MUN conference Feb. 13-16, where they will be representing Qatar.

For more information on CSU, Chico’s MUN program, visit www.csuchico.edu/mun.