Classes suspended until Nov. 26. Campus is safe, closed through Nov. 16. More information...
CSU, Chico News

Professor Delivers Keynote at Washington D.C. Conference

Date: 12-19-2013

Joe Wills
Public Affairs

California State University, Chico history professor James Matray, an internationally recognized expert on Korea, was the keynote speaker at a Washington D.C. conference on Northeast Asia earlier this month.

The Dec. 2 conference, “Historical Reconciliation and Prosperity in Northeast Asia: 70 Years Since the Cairo Declaration,” focused on the post-World War II era in Northeast Asia. It was hosted by George Washington University’s Sigur Center for Asian Studies, Elliott School of International Affairs.

Matray’s keynote talk was titled “Casualty of the Cold War: The Cairo Declaration and Its Historical Legacy in Northeast Asia.” The Cairo Declaration, signed by the United States, Great Britain and China in 1943, established an independent Korea as well as other goals and intentions for Northeast Asia.

Welcoming remarks at the conference were delivered by Hak Joon Kim, president of the Northeast Asian History Foundation, and Ho-Young Ahn, ambassador of the Republic of Korea to the United States.

Other speakers at the conference were from Boston University, UCLA, University of Washington, Johns Hopkins, University of Maryland, West Virginia University, Dartmouth and George Washington.

Professor Matray is the author of numerous articles and books on Korea and Asia, including “Korea Divided: The 38th Parallel and the Demilitarized Zone,” “The Reluctant Crusade: American Foreign Policy in Korea, 1941-1950” and “Japan’s Emergence as a Global Power.” He is the editor of East Asia and the United States: An Encyclopedia of Relations Since 1784, “Historical Dictionary of the Korean War” and “Korea and the Cold War: Division, Destruction, and Disarmament.”

Matray is the recipient of grants from the MacArthur Memorial Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities among others for his research, and he has won awards for his publications including the Phi Alpha Theta Best Book Prize and Library Journal’s Best Reference Book Award.