CSU, Chico News

Greek Chapter Members Receive Awards for Leadership

Date: 05-03-2013

Joe Wills
Public Affairs

California State University, Chico’s Student Life and Leadership office hosted the first Greek Life Arete Reception yesterday, May 2, and handed out awards to campus fraternity and sorority chapters.

The Arete accreditation process, which was instituted for social Greek organizations this academic year, holds chapters to high standards of service, scholarship, leadership, integrity, community and diversity and inclusion.

The event was held in the Bell Memorial Union Auditorium and was attended by approximately 175 students. Student Life and Leadership Director CC Carter and other Student Life staff gave awards to representatives of the Intrafraternity Council (IFC), Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) and the Panhellenic Council.

The Archon Award was given to the overall outstanding leader of the year for each council. The winners were
IFC: Alex Salciccia, Sigma Chi
MGC: Bianka Perez, Upsilon Kappa Delta
Panhellenic: Caitlyn Craig, Alpha Delta Pi

Chapter President of the Year award recipients were
IFC: Layton Piver, Alpha Sigma Phi
MGC: Samantha Grinaldo, Lambda Theta Nu (MGC)
Panhellenic: Gina Erle, Alpha Gamma Delta

Rising Leader of the Year award recipients were
IFC: Jeff Zawoysky, Phi Delta Theta
MGC: Mariah Flores, Lambda Theta Nu
Panhellenic: Amanda Watson, Sigma Kappa

Advisor of the Year recipients were
IFC: Stephen Lewis, Gamma Zeta Alpha
MGC: Caren Fernandez, Lambda Theta Nu
Panhellenic: Jollie Graves Webb, Alpha Gamma Delta

Awards were also given for efforts in particular areas of emphasis for social Greek organizations. The recipients are as follows.

Leadership Pillar Award: Michael Kenny, Phi Delta Theta, and Abbie Page, Sigma Kappa
Scholarship Pillar Award: Ryan Fedrizzi, Phi Delta Theta
Community Pillar Award: Kelly Ertola, Alpha Gamma Delta
Service Pillar Award: Kailee Schroeder, Alpha Delta Pi
Diversity and Inclusion Pillar Award: Aaron Rodriguez, Nu Alpha Kappa
Integrity Pillar Award: Cindy Melendrez, Lambda Theta Nu

Student Life and Leadership plans to hold the Greek Life Arete Reception annually in the spring.