Lantis University Chair Awards

Rachel Teasdale - Endowed University Chair


We are pleased to announce the selection of Geological Sciences Professor Rachel Teasdale as one of the Lantis Endowed University Chair Award recipients. Professor Teasdale's selection follows a very competitive process featuring a number of strong applications from among our faculty.

Professor David Lantis was a faculty member of the Department of Geography who understood that private giving would help to enrich the teaching and learning environment of the University. Professor Lantis and his wife, Helen, donated $2 million to endow a university chair in their name, which allows for the annual funding of two university chairs. Past recipients of the Lantis University Chair are David Colson, Michelle Neyman Morris, Stephen Lewis, Greg Kallio, Tracy Butts, Kate Transchel, Lori Beth Way, and Byron Wolfe.

Professor Teasdale will receive a $40,000 award to advance her research and student-centered projects. The award period will begin July 1, 2014, and continue for 24 months. 

Provost Wei and president Zingg thank the Lantis University Chairs Selection Committee, chaired by Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs Wenshu Lee, for its time and expertise in choosing the recipients for this prestigious honor.

Professor Rachel Teasdale plans to use the Lantis Professorship to complete a project that is a natural extension of her teaching and research. Professor Teasdale will work with students on cooling experiments to characterize crystallization of basaltic lava flows, such as Lovejoy Basalt and Poison Lake Chain and Cinder Cone flows in Lassen Volcanic Center. This research will also include decompression experiments at the University of Bristol’s Electron Microbeam Laboratory through a collaborative partnership. Not only will Professor Teasdale and her students present their research at the Fall 2015 American Geophysical Union conference in San Francisco, this project will result in the development of related curriculum for her senior-level Volcanology course, in which student researchers will be recruited to serve as peer leaders in the course. Professor Teasdale will also work with a student in Science Education to produce high-quality, standards-based K-12 curriculum and activities that will be presented to teachers in the Summer Science Project, in collaboration with Professor Bev Marcum. Partnering with peer professionals in the community, Professor Teasdale’s research will also benefit members of our greater North State community through informal science education activities at both the Gateway Science Museum and Lassen Volcanic National Park Visitors Center.