Omicron: Spring, 2008

Omicron: Who we are

Omicron Theta Epsilon, the CSU, Chico Biological Sciences Honor Society, was first organized in 1927 by Dr. Vesta Holt. The primary purpose for organizing Omicron was to provide a setting for students and faculty with similar academic interests to get acquainted and to share ideas. Since that time, hundreds of Undergraduate and Graduate Students as well as Faculty and Staff of the Department of Biological Sciences have become members of this prestigious organization.

Activities sponsored or co-sponsored by Omicron include several socials for current members and alumni, frequent presentations by guest speakers during bi-monthly general meetings, a weekly Biological Sciences Seminar Series in Holt Hall 170, a tutorial service for biology students, as well as field trips to areas such as the tide pools of Fort Bragg in Mendocino Country, and the CSU, Chico Biological Field Station at Eagle Lake in Lassen County.

Omicron also sponsors a faculty versus Student softball game each semester and participates in an annual Spring Softball tournament between student organizations within the College of Natural Sciences. In addition, Omicron Theta Epsilon administers the George E. Corson Honor Scholarship which is awarded each year to one or more outstanding Omicron members.

To become a part of the Omicron Theta Epsilon tradition, simply attend one of the general meetings where information on the organization will be presented. New members are always welcome!

Calendar of Events

Biology Weekly Seminar Series

Omicron Scholarships

Hours Guide

Membership Requirements

Executive Committee and Committee Chairs

Eagle Lake Field Station

CSU Chico Department of Biological Sciences

This site is maintained by Larry Hanne ( Please send me any comments or suggestions