Policy on the Formation of the Americans with Disabilities Act Committee

Executive Memorandum 05-019

November 18, 2005

From: Paul J. Zingg, President

Subject: Policy on the Formation of the Americans with Disabilities Act Committee

On the recommendation of the Academic Senate, I approve this policy for immediate implementation.



The purpose of the Americans with Disabilities Act Committee is to facilitate the goal of physical and programmatic access and equal opportunity to University employment, educational programs, sponsored activities, and events for all persons. The committee assists in assuring compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA); Sections 503, 504, and 508 of the Federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended; the Donohoe Higher Education Act, Div.5, Chapter 14.2, Sections 67302, 67310-13; California's Fair Employment and Housing Act (California Government Code Sections 12926-12928, 12940, 19230); established University policy; Executive Order 926; CSU's Policy for the Provision of Accommodation and Support Services to Students with Disabilities (AA 2002-35); and EM 99-021, California State University, Chico's Nondiscrimination Policy Regarding Individuals with Disabilities.


  • Assist the ADA Compliance Officers in the evaluation of current campus programs, policies, and procedures relating to access and services for individuals with disabilities;
  • Review barrier removal priorities as defined in the campus transition plan;
  • Discuss, monitor, and evaluate campus-specific issues relating to compliance with Executive Order 926, http://www.calstate.edu/eo/EO-926.shtml, or its superseding document, and all applicable University, state, and federal regulations; and
  • Report to the Faculty and Student Policies Committee of the Academic Senate.


This list is composed with the intent of including representatives throughout campus whose departments are aware of disability-related issues or who can provide information regarding policies or procedures that affect individuals with disabilities.

Permanent members

  • Director of Employment Practices or designee (ex-officio)
  • Director of Disability Support Services or designee (ex-officio)
  • Director of Facilities Planning (FCP) or designee
  • Director of Facilities Management and Services (FMS) or designee
  • University Risk Manager or designee
  • Vice Provost for Information Resources or designee
  • Director of University Housing and Food Service (UHFS) or designee
  • Associated Students Vice President for Facilities and Services or designee
  • Associated Students Student Union Director of Operations or designee
  • Student appointed by Disability Support Services

The Director of Student Judicial Affairs serves in a consultative role, as necessary.

Two-year staggered terms (individuals with disabilities from the following categories are encouraged to participate):

  • Two faculty representatives appointed by the Academic Senate Executive Committee
  • One staff representative recommended by Staff Council for appointment by the President

The committee may, by majority vote, decide to add up to five additional voting members from the campus or the local community, subject to annual renewal, provided that such additions serve at least one of the following purposes:

  • To increase the representation of persons with disabilities on the committee and particularly to increase the representation of persons with different types of disabilities
  • To add representation from a unit that is essentially involved in implementing necessary policy or facilities modifications
  • To provide additional expertise required for the committee's deliberations

The committee may, by majority vote, invite representatives of interested community groups or agencies to serve as non-voting adjunct members for the purpose of fulfilling the committee's charge.

The committee shall elect its chair, vice chair, and secretary annually by majority vote.

The Director of Employment Practices shall convene the first meeting of the academic year and serve as the custodian of historical committee materials.