Advising

Psychology majors and minors are strongly encouraged to obtain advising.  Most departments have advising as a mandatory process and assign students to a specific faculty advisor.  Psychology doesn’t do this; students are free to select their own adviser. 

How does one select an adviser? You can go to Modoc 215 and pick up the list of this semester’s advisers and their contact information, or you can use the list below.  Use the list to determine whose times coincide with your free times, or whether your favorite instructor or a teacher from whom you are hoping to take a class is now advising.  Perhaps one of the advisers is also the coordinator of a special program that intrigues you, such as Honors or PPS.  Or maybe a potential adviser has a specialization in an area that fascinates you.  Any of these are good foundations upon which to build a relationship with your adviser.

Student Success Map
Click for the Student Success Map

Fall 2018 Undergraduate Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Leesa Huang General Advising Modoc 109 898-5164 Mon. 9:00-11:00 & Tues. 12:00-2:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu
Patrick Johnson

General Advising

Modoc 206 898-3098 Monday & Wednesday 12:00-1:00, and
Tuesday & Thursday 1:00-2:00
psjohnson@csuchico.edu
Mariah Kornbluh General Advising,
Internship Coordinator
Modoc 119 898-6695 Tuesday 9:00-10:30 & Wednesday 3:00-4:30 mkornbluh@csuchico.edu
Internship website
Martin van den Berg General Advising,
Psychology Honors Program
Modoc 210 898-3472 Monday 12:30-2:00
Thursday 12:30-3:00
mvandenberg@csuchico.edu
Dan Worthen General Advising
Transfer Equiv. Clearance Forms
Modoc 205 898-5363 Mon, Tue, Wed, & Thurs: 2:00-4:30 dworthen@csuchico.edu

Fall 2018 Graduate Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Dave Hibbard Graduate Coordinator for all programs Modoc 115 898-5430

Mon/Wed 3:00-4:30 & Tues 3:00-4:00

drhibbard@csuchico.edu
Lawrence Herringer Psyc. Science Advising Modoc 203 898-4803 Mon. & Wed. 1:00-2:00 and Tues. 4:00-6:00 lherringer@csuchico.edu
Pete Lopez MFT Advising Modc 104 898-5292 Mon. 1:00-2:30 & Tues. 2:30-4:00 palopez@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang PPS Advising Modc 109 898-5164 Mon. 9:00-11:00 & Tues. 12:00-2:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu

Services and Information:

NameRoomHours
CTC-Counselor Training Center AJH 111A 898-5149 Email or call to set up an appointment ctc@csuchico.edu
Internship Coordinator – Mariah Kornbluh Modoc 119 898-6695 Tuesday 9:00-10:30 & Wednesday 3:00-4:30 mkornbluh@csuchico.edu
Internship website
PSYC Computer Lab - open hours Modoc 224 Posted on bulletin board outside lab
Psychometric Library - AJH 123A 898-4924
Psychology Study and Tutoring Center AJH 108 Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00am – 6:00pm Psychology Study and Tutoring Center