Advising

Psychology majors and minors are strongly encouraged to obtain advising.  Most departments have advising as a mandatory process and assign students to a specific faculty advisor.  Psychology doesn’t do this; students are free to select their own adviser. 

How does one select an adviser? You can go to Modoc 215 and pick up the list of this semester’s advisers and their contact information, or you can use the list below.  Use the list to determine whose times coincide with your free times, or whether your favorite instructor or a teacher from whom you are hoping to take a class is now advising.  Perhaps one of the advisers is also the coordinator of a special program that intrigues you, such as Honors or PPS.  Or maybe a potential adviser has a specialization in an area that fascinates you.  Any of these are good foundations upon which to build a relationship with your adviser.

Advising Tutorial

Student Success Map
Click for the Student Success Map

Spring 2016 Undergrad Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Peer Advising General Advising AJH 108-O Wedensday 11:00AM-2:00PM peeradvisor@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang General Advising Modoc 109 898-5164 Mon 11:00-2:00 & Tues 10:00-11:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu
Linda Kline

General Advising, Psychology Honors Program

Modoc 119 898-6263 Mon 11:30-2:00 & Thurs 11:00-1:30 lkline@csuchico.edu
Sandra Machida General Advising Modoc 121 898-4912 Tues/Thurs 1:30-3:00 smachida@csuchico.edu
Jane Rysberg General Advising / Internship Coordinator / Transfer Equiv. Modoc 112 898-5178 By email only jrysberg@csuchico.edu
Martin van den Berg General Advising Modoc 210 898-3472 Monday 12:30-2:00
Wednesday 12:30-3:00
mvandenberg@csuchico.edu
Dan Worthen General Advising / Transfer Equiv. Clearance Forms Modoc 205 898-5363 Mon/Wed 8:00-9:00, 10:00-11:00;  Tu/Th 8:00-9:30, 2:00-4:30 dworthen@csuchico.edu

Spring 2016 Graduate Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Linda Kline Graduate Coordinator for all programs Modoc 119 898-6263

Mon 11:30-2:00 & Thurs 11:00-1:30

lkline@csuchico.edu
Dave Hibbard Psyc. Science Advising Modoc 115 898-5430

Mon/Wed 3:00-4:30 & Tues 3:00-4:00

drhibbard@csuchico.edu
Elise Cole MFT Advising Modc 206 898-5158

Tues 8:30-11:00 & Thurs 2:00-3:00

emcole@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang PPS Advising Modc 109 898-5164 Mon 11:00-2:00 & Tues 10:00-11:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu

Services and Information:

NameRoomHours
CTC-Counselor Training Center AJH 111A 898-5149 Email or call for an appointment ctc@csuchico.edu
Internship Coordinator – Neil Jacobson AJH 108-O   Mon 8:00-11:00, 3:00-6:00 & Wed 8:00-2:00 njacobson5@gmail.com
PSYC Computer Lab - open hours Modoc 224 Posted on bulletin board outside lab
Psychometric Library AJH 123A 898-4924 Mondays 5:50-6:20, Tuesdays 9:00-12:00 & Fridays 2:00-3:30
Psychology Study and Tutoring Center AJH 108 Monday/Wednesday 10:00-6:00 & Friday 10:00-4:00