Advising

Psychology majors and minors are strongly encouraged to obtain advising.  Most departments have advising as a mandatory process and assign students to a specific faculty advisor.  Psychology doesn’t do this; students are free to select their own adviser. 

How does one select an adviser? You can go to Modoc 215 and pick up the list of this semester’s advisers and their contact information, or you can use the list below.  Use the list to determine whose times coincide with your free times, or whether your favorite instructor or a teacher from whom you are hoping to take a class is now advising.  Perhaps one of the advisers is also the coordinator of a special program that intrigues you, such as Honors or PPS.  Or maybe a potential adviser has a specialization in an area that fascinates you.  Any of these are good foundations upon which to build a relationship with your adviser.

Advising Tutorial

Student Success Map
Click for the Student Success Map

Fall 2013 Undergrad Advisors:

Name
Area Room Phone Office Hours E-mail Address
Peer Advising General Advising Modoc 225 898-3098

M 11-3; Tu 12-3;

W 8-10, 11-12, 2-4 Th 2-5

peeradvisor@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang General Advising Modoc 109 898-5164 T 11:30-3:00 W 12:00-1:30 lvhuang@csuchico.edu
Linda Kline

General Advising, Psychology Honors Program

Modoc 119 898-6263

M 1:00-3:00 T 9:00-11:00 F 1:00-2:00

lkline@csuchico.edu
Sandra Machida General Advising Modoc 219A 898-4912

TR 2:00-3:00 & by apt

smachida@csuchico.edu
Jane Rysberg General Advising / Internship Coordinator Modoc 106 898-5178

MW 1:00-3:00, F 12:00-2:00

jrysberg@csuchico.edu
Martin van den Berg General Advising

Modoc 210

898-3472

M 12:30-2:00, W 12:30-3:00

mvandenberg@csuchico.edu

Dan Worthen

General Advising / Transfer Equiv. Clearance Forms

Modoc 205

898-5363

MW 8:00-9:00, 10:00-11:00

TR 8:00-9:30, 12:30-1:30

dworthen@csuchico.edu

Fall 2013 Graduate Advisors:

Name Area Room Phone Office Hours E-mail Address
Linda Kline
Graduate Coordinator for all programs Modoc 119 898-6263

M 1:00-3:00 T 9:00-11:00 F 1:00-2:00

lkline@csuchico.edu
Dave Hibbard Psyc. Science Advising Modoc 115
898-5430

MW 3-4:30 T 3-5 & by apt

drhibbard@csuchico.edu
Pete Lopez MFT Advising Modc 104 898-5292

M 1:30-2:30 T 2:30-4:00

palopez@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang PPS Advising Modc 109 898-5164 T 11:30-3:00 W 12:00-1:30
lvhuang@csuchico.edu