Advising

Psychology majors and minors are strongly encouraged to obtain advising.  Most departments have advising as a mandatory process and assign students to a specific faculty advisor.  Psychology doesn’t do this; students are free to select their own adviser. 

How does one select an adviser? You can go to Modoc 215 and pick up the list of this semester’s advisers and their contact information, or you can use the list below.  Use the list to determine whose times coincide with your free times, or whether your favorite instructor or a teacher from whom you are hoping to take a class is now advising.  Perhaps one of the advisers is also the coordinator of a special program that intrigues you, such as Honors or PPS.  Or maybe a potential adviser has a specialization in an area that fascinates you.  Any of these are good foundations upon which to build a relationship with your adviser.

Advising Tutorial

Student Success Map
Click for the Student Success Map

Fall 2017 Undergrad Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Peer Advising General Advising AJH 108-O Monday 8:00-9:00 & 10:00-5:00
Wednesday 10:00-3:30 & 3:30-5:00
Friday 10:00-5:00
peeradvisor@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang General Advising Modoc 109 898-5164 Tuesday 9:00-1:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu
Patrick Johnson

General Advising

Modoc 206 898-3098 Mon/Wed 2:00-4:00 & Tues/Thurs 11:00-12:00 psjohnson@csuchico.edu
Sandra Machida General Advising Modoc 121 898-4912 Tues/Thurs 2:00-3:00 smachida@csuchico.edu
Jane Rysberg General Advising / Internship Coordinator / Transfer Equiv. Modoc 112 898-5178 Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00-10:50 & 12:00-1:30 jrysberg@csuchico.edu
Martin van den Berg General Advising, Psychology Honors Program Modoc 210 898-3472 Monday 12:30-2:00
Thursday 12:30-3:00
mvandenberg@csuchico.edu
Dan Worthen General Advising / Transfer Equiv. Clearance Forms Modoc 205 898-5363 Mon/Wed 8:00-9:00, 10:00-11:00;  Tu/Th 3:30-5:00 dworthen@csuchico.edu

Fall 2017 Graduate Advisors:

NameAreaRoomPhoneOffice HoursE-mail Address
Dave Hibbard Graduate Coordinator for all programs Modoc 115 898-5430

Mon/Wed 3:00-4:30 & Tues 3:00-4:00

drhibbard@csuchico.edu
Lawrence Herringer Psyc. Science Advising Modoc 203 898-4803 Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00-10:50 & Tues 3:30-5:30 lherringer@csuchico.edu
Pete Lopez MFT Advising Modc 104 898-5292 Wed 1:00-2:30 & Thurs 2:00-3:30 palopez@csuchico.edu
Leesa Huang PPS Advising Modc 109 898-5164 Tuesday 9:00-1:00 lvhuang@csuchico.edu

Services and Information:

NameRoomHours
CTC-Counselor Training Center AJH 111A 898-5149 Email or call for an appointment ctc@csuchico.edu
Internship Coordinator – Jane Rysberg Modoc 112 898-5178 Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00-10:50 & 12:00-1:30 jrysberg@csuchio.edu
PSYC Computer Lab - open hours Modoc 224 Posted on bulletin board outside lab
Psychometric Library - Amethyst Steinmann AJH 123A 898-4924  
Psychology Study and Tutoring Center AJH 108 Monday/Wednesday 10:00-6:00 & Friday 10:00-4:00