"Risk Management is everyone’s job."
– Chancellor Reed
In Case of an Injury or Automobile Accident
Student Injury or Illness
If the injury or illness is life threatening or requires immediate medical attention, call 911. If there is any question as to the severity of the injury or illness, call the University Police Department immediately at ext 5555 or dial 911. Examples of injuries or illnesses that might require immediate medical attention include, but are not limited to, back or neck injury, unconsciousness, seizures. For injury or illness that requires medical treatment off-campus, the student's own medical insurance is primary and should be used to secure medical care. If the injury or illness is minor in nature and only requires first aid treatment (minor cuts, abrasions, splinters), the student should be referred to the Student Health Center. The University Police Department and Risk Management should be contacted and a completed DGS Form 268 should be forwarded to Risk Management as soon as possible.
Employee Injury or Illness (including volunteer employees and student employees)
If the injury or illness is life threatening or requires immediate medical attention, call 911. If there is any question as to the severity of the injury, call the University Police Department immediately at ext 5555 or dial 911. Examples of injuries or illnesses that might require immediate medical attention include, but are not limited to, back or neck injury, unconsciousness, seizures.
If the injury or illness is minor in nature and only requires first aid treatment (minor cuts, abrasions, splinters), refer the employee to the Student Health Services Center (SHS) for treatment if necessary. For further information please contact the Worker’s Compensation Office at ext 6771 or refer to http://www.csuchico.edu/hr/_docs/ELWC-InjuriesOnTheJobPoster.pdf.
For vehicle accidents while on state business, first, determine whether anyone needs medical attention and seek appropriate assistance immediately. DGS guidelines for vehicle accidents are as follows:
At the accident scene, do not admit fault or make any promises that the state will pay for any damages. Using the DGS Std 269 card that should be in your glove compartment, write down as much information as you can. Tear off the perforated part and give it to the other driver so he/she will know who you are and how to contact us. Claims for accidents involving Enterprise Rental vehicles under state contract will be handled directly by Enterprise Rental Car.
If there were injuries to non-state parties, or if the other party suffered significant property damage, report the accident to the Office of Risk and Insurance Management (ORIM) by telephone at (916) 376-5302. Complete the DGS Std 270 Form as soon as possible and submit the completed form to Risk Management.
If an accident involves a personally owned vehicle used for University business, the accident should be reported to the vehicle owner’s insurance company. The insurance on the personally owned vehicle is primary. A DGS Std 270 still needs to be completed and submitted to Risk Management as soon as possible.
California Law requires traffic accidents on a California Street/highway or private property to be reported to the DMV via an SR-1 filing within 10 days if there was an injury, death or property damage to any one person’s property in excess of $750.00. The law requires the driver to file this SR-1 Form with DMV regardless of fault.
For questions during business hours call Risk Management at 530-898-6588, other times call University Police Department at 530-898-5555.