Study Skills Workshops

Scheduled Workshops

The Student Learning Center offers free study skills workshops to help students develop practical academic success strategies. Topics offered each semester include time management, reading, memory, test taking, and stress reduction. Most study skills workshops last 40-50 minutes. Students who have attended workshops over the past three years have told us that the top five study skills they developed were organization, better overall study habits, time management, preparing for exams, and an improved study environment.

There is no fee for the workshops. 

To reserve a spot, SIGN UP HERE. **Please sign in to your WildCat email account before signing up for a workshop or it will not go through**

Online Workshops

Many of our workshops are also available online as an alternative for those who are not able to attend the scheduled workshops. For online workshops, click on the link for Regional & Continuing Education here.

Spring 2014 Workshop Schedule

All workshops will be held in SSC 304.

** New workshops may be added throughout the semester **
Mon Feb 10 Mastering Study Skills 4-4:50 PM Dr. Pat Patterson
Tue Feb 18 Reading Strategies 3-3:50 PM Christine Connerly
Wed Feb 26 Time Management 12-12:50 PM Josue Perez Davalos
Tue Mar 4 GRE Writing Preparation 5-5:50 PM Dani Anguiano
Wed Mar 5 Money 101: Budget & Credit 12-12:50 PM Student Financial Services
Tue Mar 11 Preventing Math Anxiety 1-1:50 PM Dominique Silva
Thu Mar 13 Pre-Writing: How to Begin Your Essay 12-12:50 PM Gina Spadorcio
Mon Mar 24 Organizing Your Essay 4:4:50 PM Sonoma Koontz & Nicole Dozier
Wed Mar 26 The Perfect Study Environment 12-12:50 PM Josue Perez Davalos
Wed Apr 2 Paragraph Development 12-12:50 PM Brooke Hespeler
Thu Apr 3 Motivation & Success 12-12:50 PM Caitlin Cunningham
Mon Apr 7 Reducing Test Anxiety 4-4:50 PM Marissa Ibarra
Wed Apr 16 Writing for a Reader: Knowing Your Audience 12-12:50 PM Marissa Luna
Tue Apr 15 Avoiding Procrastination 5-5:50 PM Christine Connerly
Mon Apr 21 Planning for Finals 4-4:50 PM Dr. Pat Patterson
Tue Apr 22 Stress Reduction 3-3:50 PM Dr. Stephanie Chervinko
Tue Apr 29 Money 101: Graduation & Student Loans 1-1:50 PM Student Financial Services


De-Stress Week in May: Look for special De-Stress Week activities in the BMU, the WREC, and the Student Learning Center