Study Skills Workshops

Scheduled Workshops

The Student Learning Center offers free study skills workshops to help students develop practical academic success strategies. Topics offered each semester include time management, reading, memory, test taking, and stress reduction. Most study skills workshops last 40-50 minutes. Students who have attended workshops over the past three years have told us that the top five study skills they developed were organization, better overall study habits, time management, preparing for exams, and an improved study environment. There is no fee for the workshops.

Online Workshops

Many of our workshops are also available online as an alternative for those who are not able to attend the scheduled workshops. For online workshops, click on the link for Regional & Continuing Education here.

Spring 2015 Workshop Schedule for February

Additional workshops will be added throughout the semester.

To reserve a spot, SIGN UP HERE. **Please sign in to your WildCat email account before signing up for a workshop or it will not go through**

All workshops will be held in SSC 150.

Date Workshop Title Time Presenter
Mon Feb 2

Mastering Study Skills 4-4:50 pm Christine Connerly
Mon Feb 9

Effective Note Taking 4-4:50 pm Marissa Ibarra
Tues Feb 17

Reading Strategies 3-3:50 pm Christine Connerly
Tues Feb 24 Finding a Mentor

4-4:50 pm Marcellus Brookshaw
Mon Mar 2 Motivation and Success

1-1:50 PM Marcellus Brookshaw
Tues Mar 3 How to Be a Tech Savvy
Student
4-4:50 PM Pheng Yang
Mon Mar 9 Money 101 Budgeting
and Credit
1-1:50 PM Natalie Wren
Tues Mar 10 Avoiding Procrastination

4-4:50 PM Christine Connerly
Mon Mar 23

Pre-Writing: How to
Begin Your Essay

4-4:50 PM Caroline Prieto
Tues Mar 24 Memory

4-4:50 PM Francisco Salinas
Weds Apr 1 Organizing Your Essay

4-4:50 PM

Stephanie Evans
Russell Moeai

Tues Apr 7 Smart Strategies for
Success
4-4:50 PM Dr. Juni
Banerjee-Stevens
Weds Apr 8 Stress Reduction 1-1:50 PM Dr. Stephanie
Chervinko
Thurs Apr 9 Reducing Test Anxiety

3-3:50 PM Yaneli Torres
Mon Apr 13

Developing a Research
Question That
Interests You

3-3:50 PM Kevin Klipfel
Tues Apr 14 Planning for Finals

1-1:50 PM Shaina Short
Mon Apr 20

Money 101 Graduation
and Student Loans

1-1:50 PM Natalie Wren

Study Skills Workshop Spring 2015 Flyer (pdf)