Study Skills Workshops

Scheduled Workshops

The Student Learning Center offers free study skills workshops to help students develop practical academic success strategies. Topics offered each semester include time management, reading, memory, test taking, and stress reduction. Most study skills workshops last 40-50 minutes. Students who have attended workshops over the past three years have told us that the top five study skills they developed were organization, better overall study habits, time management, preparing for exams, and an improved study environment. There is no fee for the workshops.

Online Workshops

Many of our workshops are also available online as an alternative for those who are not able to attend the scheduled workshops. For online workshops, click on the link for Regional & Continuing Education here.

Fall 2015 Workshop Schedule

To reserve a spot, SIGN UP HERE. **Please sign in to your WildCat email account before signing up for a workshop or it will not go through**

Date & Time Workshop Title Room  Presenter
Tues Sept 8
1-1:50 pm
Time Management BMU220G Marcellus Brookshaw
Wed Sept 9
6-6:50 pm
Overcoming Challenges SSC 150 SSS, EOP, &
Study Abroad Staff
Mon Sept 14
4-4:50 pm
Effective Note Taking SSC 150 Adam Orona and 
Claudia Martinez
Tues Sept 15
4-4:50 pm
Time Management SSC 150 Marcellus Brookshaw
Wed Sept 16
4-4:50 pm
Mastering Study Skills SSC 150 Christine Connerly
Mon Oct 5
4-4:50 pm
Prewriting: How to
Complete Your Essay
SSC 150 Caroline Prieto
Tues Oct. 6
2-2:50 pm
Developing a Research 
SSC 150 Kevin Klipfel
Wed Oct 7
2-2:50 pm
Remembering What You
SSC 150 Jose Cervantes & 
Auboni Davis
Thurs Oct 8
3-3:50 pm
Smart Strategies for 
SSC 150 Brent Henrickson
Tues Oct 13
2-2:50 pm
Finding a Mentor 

BMU220G Marcellus Brookshaw
Mon Oct 19
4-4:50 pm
Avoiding Procastination 

SSC 150 Claudia Martinez
Tues Oct 20
3-3:50 pm
Effective Reading 
LANG 106 Christine Connerly
Tues Oct 27
4-4:50 pm
Avoiding Plagiarism 

SSC 150 Michael Polson &
SLC Tutors
Tues Nov 3
2-2:50 pm
The Well Balanced 
SSC 150 Auboni Davis
Thurs Nov 12
1-1:50 pm
Money 101-Understanding
Budgets, Credit, & Loans 
GLNN 112 Natalie Wren
Mon Nov 16
4-4:50 pm
Don't Let Strain Take
You Out of the Game 
SSC 150 Dr. Stephanie
Wed Nov 18
1-1:50 pm
Budgeting Your Money

SSC 150 Jose Cervantes
Thurs Dec 10
4-4:50 pm
Planning for Finals

SSC 150 Adam Orona

Study Skills Workshop Fall 2015 Flyer (pdf)