"Reframing Academic Leadership" by Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos

Reframing Academic Leadership Book CoverExcerpt from the book:

"In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for:

  • Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts
  • Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment
  • Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission
  • Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire 
  • Serving the larger goals of the academy and society

Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience. 

Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal's classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize a pragmatic approach. They teach out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. 

Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities." 

This resource and many more are located in Kendall 106 and are ready to be checked out! Please call ahead to make sure they are available for your use.

Contact Information: 
Lori Fuentes
Chair of the University Staff Development Committee
Kendall 106, California State University Chico
(530) 898-6101
usdp@csuchico.edu