(The Varna and Jati Systems)

by Terence Callaham and Roxanna Pavich

 The Indian caste system has been in use for many years.  Still today the values of the caste system are held strongly.  It has kept a sense of order, and peace among the people.  There are five different levels of the system: Brahman, Kshatriya, Vaishya, Shudra, and Harijans. Within each of these categories are the actual "castes" or jatis within which people are born, marry, and die. They all have their own place among each other and accept that it is the way to keep society from disintegrating to chaos.  This system has worked well for Indian people and still has a major role in modern India.



[For more information, click on each photograph] 

Rajput Smoking Cutting Grass Rajput Landowner Smoking Hooka

ruler, warrior, landowner


[For more information, click on a photograph]   

Partiarch with Family and Friends Barhi - Carpenter Kumhar - Sculptor Mali - Gardener Dhobi - Washer

Potter Nai - Barber Dhobi - Washer Goala - Herds'men (Cattle)

artisans, agriculturalists

[For more information, click on a photograph]   

 Harijan Girls Musicians

"outside" the caste system
(once known as "untouchables")
Men on Charpoy Formal Eating

Class Orders


return to Syllabus