College of Agriculture

Eight Students Selected to Receive Student-Teacher Awards

Announced on: Wednesday, Mar. 23, 2022

Eight students in the agricultural education credential program at Chico State have been selected to receive the 2022 Agriculture Education Award: Saira Barajas, Kayla Bowerman, Paulina A Cortez, Charles Croman, Elizabeth Enke, Kari Magniez, Annelise Perez and Amanda Wellborn will each receive $500 awards to help offset their educational expenses as they complete the credential program.  

Educators in the agricultural field work as catalysts to expand agricultural literacy and leadership skills while providing students with lifelong memories and experiences. Students majoring in agricultural education who aspire to become teachers must complete the required credentials by shadowing a high school teacher for two semesters to observe and enhance their own teaching skills. Students are expected to participate in Future Farmers of America (FFA) and Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE), which require weekend field trips, FFA Field Day contests and many after school hours assisting students with their projects.  

Mollie Aschenbrener, agricultural education professor and program lead at Chico State, said the student-teaching process is financially challenging for all credential students, but that this is especially true for student teachers in the area of agricultural education. 

“Beyond the classroom, agriculture teachers are expected to participate in FFA and student projects that often occur outside of normal teaching hours, making it very challenging for our student teachers to work to support themselves while completing their entire year of student teaching,” Aschenbrener said. 

To help offset costs, the agricultural education program at Chico State has worked to secure financial contributions through a campaign called “Sponsor a future agriculture teacher.” Supporters can learn more and donate by visiting the scholarship webpage or by contacting Aschenbrener at 

The 2022 award recipients will be recognized at the Agricultural Education Awards Banquet on April 29.