Department of Art & Art History

Visiting Artists & Scholars

2020-2021 Visiting Artists

2020-2021 Lecture Series: Art & Social Change
Suzanne Lacy - "A Human Touch"

A conversation on human concerns across difference as seen through the art of Suzanne Lacy.

Virtual Talk: Thursday, February 4th @ 5:30 p.m.
Join by registering HERE(opens in new window)

Suzanne Lacy is renowned as a pioneer in socially engaged and public performance art. Her installations, videos, and performances deal with sexual violence, rural and urban poverty, incarceration, labor, and aging. Lacy’s large-scale projects span the globe, including England, Colombia, Ecuador, Spain, Ireland, and the United States.

 In 2019, she had a career retrospective at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. Her work has been reviewed in major periodicals and books, and she exhibits in museums across the world. Also known for her writing, Lacy edited Mapping the Terrain: New Genre Public Art and authored Leaving Art: Writings on Performance, Politics, and Publics, 1974–2007. She is a professor at the Roski School of Art and Design at the University of Southern California and a resident artist at 18th Street Arts Center.

Past Visiting Artist and Lecturers

Many thanks to David and Shari Hopper for funding the Visiting Artist Series. * indicates a Hopper Visiting Artist. 

Kim Abeles(opens in new window)
Michael Adams, son of photographer Ansel Adams
Terry Adkins(opens in new window)
Thomas Michael Alleman(opens in new window)
Terry Allen(opens in new window)
Brett Anderson(opens in new window)
AK/OK(opens in new window)
Michael Arcega(opens in new window)
Erdag Aksel(opens in new window)
Edgar Arceneaux (Fall '18)*(opens in new window)View Artist Lecture(opens in new window)
Mary Bates Neubauer(opens in new window)
Anne Beffel(opens in new window)
David Best(opens in new window)
Dylan Beck*
Kate Bingaman-Burt*
Byron Black
Les Blank(opens in new window)
Kathan Brown, Catherine Brooks(opens in new window),
Nao Bustamante*
Josh Callaghan*(opens in new window)
Kevin B. Chen(opens in new window)
Pat Collentine(opens in new window)
Linda Connor(opens in new window)
Deborah Cornell(opens in new window)
Russell Crotty*(opens in new window)
Binh Danh(opens in new window)
Paul DiMarinis(opens in new window)
Christine Duval(opens in new window)
Rinde Eckert(opens in new window)
Gregory Edwards
Steve Fitch
Geoff Fricker
Joanne Frueh(opens in new window)
Genevieve Gaignard(opens in new window)
Maureen Gosling(opens in new window)
Art Hazelwood(opens in new window)
Ullrich Hellmann
Steven High(opens in new window)
EJ Hill(opens in new window)
Yuji Hiratsuka(opens in new window)
Betye Saar(opens in new window)
Margo Humphry(opens in new window)
Roxanne Jackson(opens in new window)
Scott Jenerik(opens in new window)
Jonothan Keats(opens in new window)
Kurt Kemp(opens in new window)
Gyongy Laky(opens in new window)
Gyöngy Laky (Fall '18)*(opens in new window)
Susan Larsen(opens in new window)
Robin Lasser
Carrie Lederer(opens in new window)
Jimin Lee(opens in new window)
Judith Leinen(opens in new window)
Phil Linares
Carl Loffler
Sharon Louden*
Cathy Lu(opens in new window)
Bernie Lubell(opens in new window)
Kent Manske
Liv Moe and Lisa Marasso
Tom Marioni
Fred Martin
Deborah Masters
Michael McMillen
Lloyd Menard
Jesse Mockrin*(opens in new window)
Paul Mullowney*
Tomoko Murakami
Ansgar Nierhoff
Nance O'Banion
Pat Oleszko
Deborah Orapollo*
Richard Peterson
Danica Phelps*
Renny Pritikin
Lucy Puls
Margot Quan Knight
Jenny Robinson
Italo Scanga
Jenny Schmid
Leslie Shows*
Emma Spertus(opens in new window)

John Spiak
Stephanie Syjuco*

Heiner Thiel
Matthew Tyson*
Hrag Vartanian*(opens in new window)

Sarah Whorf
Shelly Willis
Byron Wolfe
Xiaoze Xie*
Randy Yau
Pamela Z