Career Center & Student Employment

Seminars

What is a seminar? A short presentation by Career Center advisors designed to help you with your job or internship search.

  • All students may attend
  • No experience required
  • All seminars held in the Career Center, Student Services Center 270
  • Snacks provided!

Getting a Part-time Job

Aug 28 (Wed) Noon-1 p.m.

Identify your job search resources, job search tools, and gain helpful hints on how to be successful at getting a part-time job in Chico.

Getting into Grad School

Sep 13 (Fri) Noon-1 p.m.
Oct 15 (Tues) 1-2 p.m.

The process of applying to graduate school can be very confusing. This seminar focuses on the resources required and the ideal timeline to follow for a successful grad school application process. You will learn tips for researching schools and programs, writing a personal statement, filling out applications, etc.

Strategic Interviewing

Sep 20 (Fri) Noon-1 p.m.
Oct 29 (Tues) 3-4 p.m.

Career Fair Preparation

Sep 3 (Tues) Noon-p.m. Prep for Local Job Fair
Sep 3 (Tues) 4–5 p.m. Prep for Local Job Fair
Sep 10 (Tues) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Grad School Fair
Sep 18 (Wed) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Engineering Technical Career Fair
Sep 23 (Mon) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Business Career Fair
Sep 24 (Tues) 11 a.m.-12 p.m. Prep for Business Career Fair
Sep 24 (Tues) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Business Career Fair
Nov 4 (Mon) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Career & Internship Fair
Nov 5 (Tues) 11 a.m.-12 p.m. Prep for Career & Internship Fair
Nov 5 (Tues) 4-5 p.m. Prep for Career & Internship Fair

These are casual events, where we answer all your questions about the day, like what to wear, what to bring, what to say and everything in between. No need to attend the whole session. Career Center advisors and guest employers will share best practices for a successful career fair experience.

 

View Career Fairs