Chemistry and Biochemistry

Fall 2018

All seminars held on Friday at 1:00pm in HOLT 266 unless indicated otherwise. Refreshments served just prior to the presentation.

Week 1

Friday August 31

Off-Campus Summer Research by our CHEM & BIOCHEM Students:

James Calvo, CSUC (Dr. Monica So Lab)/Sandia National Lab- Livermore

"Tuning the Electrical Conductivity of Metal-Organic Frameworks Using Guest Molecules"

Brandon Neusser, University of Florida, REU

"Solvent-Dependent Emission of 4,5-Diaryl-1,2,3-Triazole"

Week 2

Friday September 7

Off-Campus Summer Research by our CHEM & BIOCHEM Students:

Daniela Melchor, REU

"Reaction Development for the Chemoselective Modification of Tyrosine"

Week 3

Friday September 14

Dr. Marie Heffern, Department of Chemistry, UC Davis

"TBA"

Week 4

Friday September 21

TBA

Week 5

Friday September 28

Chester Simocko, Department of Chemistry, San Jose State University

"Controlling Polymer Morphology through the Primary Structure"

Week 6

Friday October 5

"TBA"

Week 7

Friday October 12

"TBA"

Week 8

Friday October 19

"TBA"

Week 9

Friday October 26

Dr. Margie Borra-Garske, Senior Scientist, Codexis

"Directed Evolution for Improved and Novel Enzymatic Properties"

Week 10

Friday November 2

Allen Mull, Sales Force Healthcare and Life Sciences

"Business Technology for the Healthcare & Life Science Industry"

Week 11

Friday November 9 - Cancelled due to Camp Fire

Annie Valceschini, Forge Nano

"Atomic Layer Deposition: A Scalable Process for Enabling the Next Generation of High Performance Materials"

Week 12

Friday November 16

No Seminar

Week 13

Friday November 30

No Seminar

Week 14

Friday December 7

Paul Safier, Intel

"Chemical Process Modeling in the Semiconductor Industry"

Week 15

Friday December 14

No Seminar

Week 16

Friday December 17

No Seminar-Finals Week