Chemistry and Biochemistry

Summer 2019 (CSRI)

Week 1

Monday, June 3 at 3:30pm in PHSC 301

Dr. Carolynn Arpin

-"Summer Research Orientation"

Thursday June 6 at 1:00 pm in PHSC 301

Dr. David Ball (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

-"Structure Analysis Foiled by Electron Ionization Mass Spectrometry"

Pizza and softdrinks provided.

Week 2

Friday, June 14 at 9am in PHSC 109

Dr. Carolynn Arpin (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

-"Synthesis in Today's Pharmaceutical Industry" 

Week 3

Monday June 17 at 11:00 am in PHSC 301

Nina McCully (Chico State alumna and PhD candidate at UC Davis)

- "From Chico State to Graduate School"

Monday June 17 at 12:00 pm in Colusa 100 A & B.

College of Natural Sciences Summer Research Kickoff Luncheon

Friday June 21 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109 

Dr. Lisa Kendhammer (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

-"How a National ACS Exam is Created"

Week 4

Wednesday June 26 at 12:00 pm in PHSC 301

Charlotte Park (Chico State alumna)

-"Working as a research assistant at the Vanderbilt Center for Neuroscience Drug Discovery (VCNDD)"

Friday June 28 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

Dr. Nathan Anderson, Dr. Joseph Greene (Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering and Sustainable Manufacturing), and Dr. Lisa Ott (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

-"Application of Chemistry and Engineering to Recycling in the Autobody Repair Industry"

Week 5

Wednesday July 3 at 12:00pm in PHSC 301 

Dr. Erik Wasinger

-TBA

Friday July 5 - Canceled due to Independence Day

Week 6

Friday July 12 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

TBA

Week 7

Friday July 19 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

TBA

Week 8

Friday July 26 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

Gregor Jones, Nirvana Almada, Oliwia Morska (Dr. David Ball)

-"Syntheses of the Degradation Products of the Herbicide Oxyfluorfen"

Jose Johnson & Vaneza Garcia (Drs. Lisa Kendhammer & Erik Wasinger)

-TBA

Kasey Renard, Susie Uribe, & Jannat Dhillon (Drs. Lisa Kendhammer & Erik Wasinger)

-TBA

Week 9

Friday August 2 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

Miranda McCaslin (Dr. David Ball)

-"Further Attempts in Synthesizing Compound A; A Degradation Product of the Pesticide Chlorantraniliprole"

Patrick Roach (Dr. Lisa Ott)

-TBA

Week 10

Friday August 9 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

Austin DuBose (Dr. Carolynn Arpin)

-TBA

Letzi Maldonado & Casey Becker (Dr. Carolynn Arpin)

-TBA

Week 11

Friday August 16 at 9:00 am in PHSC 109

TBA