Coach Greg ClinkOne Heck of a 100th

The Chico State men’s basketball team capped the program’s 100th season in style, winning its second California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) title in the past four years and earning an unprecedented fourth consecutive NCAA Tournament berth. Head Coach Greg Clink (right) claimed CCAA Coach of the Year honors for the second time in four seasons, while Jordan Semple secured honorable mention All-America, First Team All-West Region, and First Team All-Conference accolades. Semple graduated as the program’s career record holder in rebounds (927), blocked shots (153), double-doubles (22), and games played (126). He ranks third in steals (139) and sixth in scoring with 1,300 career points. 

horizontal rule

Alums on the Run

Photo of Anthony Costales

Kara Lubieniecki leads the Wildcat five after posting a 2:35.25 time at the California International Marathon in Sacramento in December. That’s the 30th fastest time by a woman in the qualifying window. Tori Tyler, Alia Gray, and Lindsay Tollefson are also set to toe the starting line. On the men’s side, Anthony Costales (left) captured a qualifying mark, while Scott Bauhs and Isaac Chavez are sure to make a run at qualifying marks as well.

horizontal rule

Celebrating 50 Seasons

More than 100 former players gathered over the weekend of May 1–3 to celebrate 50 years of Chico State men’s soccer. U.S. Men’s National Team player Chris Wondolowski was a guest speaker at the celebration dinner, held at the Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Big Room. 

horizontal rule

Championship Showing

The Wildcat women’s softball team put up a good fight at the NCAA championship tournament in St. George, Utah, but it wasn’t enough to advance to the finals.

 On May 7, the No. 6 seeded Wildcats beat the No. 7 seeded Saint Martin Saints 6-4 in the first game of the double-elimination competition. The game was won by junior catcher Brynn Lesovsky when she hit a two-run homer in the bottom of the seventh inning to lift Chico State past Saint Martin.

In a tough final game the next day, Chico State never overcame a three-run lead established by the Cal Baptist Lancers. The ’Cats lost to the Lancers 9-2, ending the season with an overall 29-22 record.

The tournament showing marks the first time since 2012 the ’Cats earned the right to compete for the national championship, and Head Coach Angel Shamblin’s fourth time since taking over the program in 2010. 

horizontal rule

Photo of TommyWigtonTip of the Cap to Tommy

Longtime Chico State baseball manager Tommy Wigton (right) retired after 21 seasons in the dugout. He was honored on April 12 with one of the department’s rare lifetime passes after throwing out the first pitch on that warm, sunny Sunday. Wigton, who will still work with the men’s basketball team, witnessed one of the most amazing runs in the history of collegiate baseball. During his tenure, Chico State won two national titles and advanced to the Division II College World Series nine times in an 18-year span.

horizontal rule

Photo of Alex McGuirkHistoric Streak

The Chico State men’s cross country team won its 13th consecutive CCAA crown in November in San Bernardino, matching the longest string of consecutive conference titles, in any sport, in the CCAA’s storied history. 

Alex McGuirk (right)won the race and Conference Runner of the Year honors, becoming the 15th conference champion in the history of the program, joining the likes of Isaac Chavez and Scott Bauhs. 

The Wildcats went on to win their third straight NCAA West Region crown and 11th in the past 13 years. In doing so, they qualified for the NCAA Championships for the 16th straight season.

The women’s cross country team won the CCAA title as well, marking its seventh in a row.

horizontal rule


Patrick McIntosh of was incorrectly identified as Patrick Fitzgerald in the story titled “Two Alums Lead Sacramento Soccer Team to Title Win” on page 7 of the fall 2014 edition. In “Smith Snags Third Straight NCAA Title” on the same page, we stated that J Patrick Smith is the first three-time NCAA champion in Wildcat history. In fact, he’s the first three-time champion in any of the Wildcats’ 13 current intercollegiate athletic programs.