College of Communication & Education

Faculty Pedagogy Awards

The College of Communication and Education’s Pedagogy Awards honor and support the faculty of the College for their excellence and achievements in one of three categories of teaching and learning that are emblematic of CME’s mission: 1) the Innovative Educator Award; 2) the Engaged Educator Award; and 3) the Inclusive Educator Award. Selected faculty members have made significant pedagogical contributions to curriculum, programs, course development, delivery, or any other instructional related activity.

Quinn Winchell, Department of Media Arts, Design, and Technology, received the Innovative Educator Award. This award recognizes the outstanding educator who is charting new paths in education. Innovative practices may involve teaching with technology, innovative curriculum design, or program development.

Sue Peterson, Department of Communication Arts and Sciences, received the Engaged Educator Award. This award highlights the contributions of the individual whose instructional practices exemplify blurring the boundaries between learning that takes place within and beyond the walls of the classroom. 

Paula Selvester, Department of Liberal Studies, received the Inclusive Educator Award. This award pays tribute to an individual whose inclusive pedagogical practices promote equity across race, gender, sexuality, language, class, and ability and create conditions where all students can thrive.

quinn winchell and deborah summers
Innovative Educator Award
Associate Dean Deborah Summers recognizes Quinn Winchell

sue peterson and dean angela trethewey
Engaged Educator Award
Sue Peterson is recognized by Dean Angela Trethewey

Den Trethewey and Paula Selvester
Inclusive Educator Award
Dean Angela Trethewey recognizes Paula Selvester