College of Communication & Education

Journalism and Public Relations

An annual scholarship, from our generous alumni and donors, help students afford and provide for their "Chico Experience". 

*Endowments, gifts that provide support in perpetuity, are the cornerstone of the College of Communication and Education’s success. Donors who establish an endowed fund leave a legacy of support so that those who follow can pursue their academic dreams.

**Scholarships that have already been endowed but are striving to reach the next level of an endowment by reaching $25,000 or more. 

Bob Vivian Public Relations Scholarship*

Robert W. Vivian was a beloved professor in the department of journalism and a highly respected academic advisor at Chico State. He went above and beyond the call of duty in assisting and guiding students. He was named Outstanding Academic Advisor of the Year in 1993. After his death, his many former students and advisees continue to support his scholarship to honor his memory by doing what he loved to do - help students.

Jack Henning Jr. Journalism Scholarship*

This scholarship was established in memory of John F. Henning Jr. who attended Chico State briefly then enlisted in the U.S. Naval Air Corps and became a pilot when World War II broke out. After leaving the San Francisco Examiner, Mr. Henning worked at Sunset magazine for 40 years and served as its president for nearly a decade. 

John R. Hetherington Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship is in memory of John Hetherington, a journalism professor at Chico State and the first faculty advisor of the student newspaper, The Orion. Hetherington spent more than four decades in various aspects of journalism. His many experiences include stints as a radio news director, newspaper reporter, public relations director for the University and in the 1950s for Kaiser Aluminum in West Virginia. This scholarship is one way to continue his legacy and assist additional students to acquire a love of journalism.

Journalism Alumni Award

This award is to provide internship awards to students majoring in Journalism, with the news editorial or public relations option.

Mark and June McMahon Community Journalism Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes the outstanding, lifelong commitment of Mark and June McMahon to community journalism. The McMahons both earned journalism degrees and owned several community newspapers in the West and Southwest.

Moyna Rourke Public Relations Scholarship*

Moyna Rourke (Milo) mother to former journalism professor and department chair Dr. Katie Milo, was a strong believer in public education and in particular, Chico State. Moyna worked as an elementary school secretary for more than 30 years, supporting teachers and students so that they could perform and learn well. An avid reader, she took every opportunity to stress the importance of correct spelling and clear writing. She was impressed by the Chico State journalism program and would be honored to know students receive a scholarship in her name.

Orion Student Journalist Scholarship*

This award goes to students who are currently "practicing" journalism.

Pat and Rowland "Reb" Rebele Scholarship*

Established in 1999 for journalism students who successfully complete an internship.

Richard Ek Memorial Scholarship

Professor emeritus from the Department of Journalism and long-time freelance journalist. Ek joined the faculty in 1967 and taught journalism for 24 years until his retirement in 1991. While head of the journalism program, he managed the debut of the Orion in 1975, and later served as the newspaper's faculty advisor from 1987 to 1988. He was inducted into The Orion Hall of Fame in October 2006. This scholarship was established in his memory for aspiring journalism students.

Tehama Group Communications Award

This award is for outstanding performance as a member of Tehama Group Communications. 

Tom R. Hennion Memorial Scholarship*

This academic scholarship for students in Journalism major with a News-Ed option, who has excelled on The Orion and plans a career in journalism.

A.H. Weibel and A.W. Bramwell Scholarship*

Mrs. Bramwell established the Bramwell-Weibel Scholarship in memory of Mrs. Weibel's late husbands who both were news editors. The intent for this award is to go to students who have a passion for journalism and/or telecommunication, including broadcast journalism.