Curriculum Services

General Education Curriculum Advisory Board (CAB) Committee

2021-2022 General Education Curriculum Advisory Board (CAB)


Jason Nice  – College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Faculty Representatives

Betsy Boyd – College of Agriculture

Melody Yeager-Struthers – College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Bob Madrigal  – College of Business

Jesse Engebretson – College of Communication and Education

Elena Harris  – College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management

Jason Nice  – College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Carolynn Arpin  – College of Natural Sciences

Marc Langston  – Library

Pathway Coordinators

Nathaniel Heggins Bryant  – Diversity Studies 

Doris Schartmueller  – Ethics, Justice, and Policy 

Maria Giovanni  – Food Studies 

Christine Leistner  – Gender and Sexuality

Sinwoo Lee  – Global Development Studies

Heather Werner  – Great Books and Ideas

Jolene Barry  – Health and Wellness

Dean Fairbanks  – International Studies

Phil Clements – Science, Technology, and Values

Nate Millard  – Sustainability


Rick Ford – Education Policies and Programs Committee

Ex-Officio Members

Kelly McGregor  – Academic Advising Programs

Kate McCarthy  – Provost Designee

Student Representatives

Olivia Rosso - Director of University Affairs

General questions can be referred to the   General Education Advisory Board

From   EM 18-005 Approval of General Education Program:


Administrative Structure

The CAB (Curriculum Advisory Board) will be responsible for making recommendations to the Provost or designee on the implementation, monitoring, and development of the GE program. In consultation with appropriate disciplinary faculty, it is responsible for the coordination of assessment and the addition or deletion of individual courses as well as any proposed substitutions. Since CAB will advise the Provost on a major university program, it may either initiate advice or respond to requests for advice. This committee will comprise:

  • Eight Faculty Representatives - One representative elected by and from each college and one by and from the library. (two year staggered terms, renewable)
  • Pathway Coordinators - Pathway coordinators receive release time for overseeing the coherence and breadth of pathways and participation on CAB; a coordinator may also serve concurrently as an elected college representative (two year staggered terms, renewable)
    • One selected from the Academic Senate's Educational Policies and Programs Committee (one year term, renewable twice)
    • Two ex-officio members -- one Provost designee and one member of the Academic Advising Programs
    • One student representative selected by the AS President (one year term, renewable)

The CAB chair will be elected annually from the faculty representatives and will receive release time for coordinating the committee's work.

This document is the property of Academic Affairs and maintained by   Curriculum Services