College of Engineering, Computer Science & Construction Management

Two College of ECC students named Rawlins Award Recipients

Twelve students with major achievements in the classroom and in the community were honored in a special ceremony on October 16 as recipients of the 36th annual Lieutenant Robert Merton Rawlins Merit Award. Two of the award winners, come from the College of Engineering, Computer Science & Construction Management. 

Rawlins Award Recipient, Mitchell Treiloff.

Mitchell Treiloff is a senior seeking his bachelor’s degree in construction management. He is a two-time Dean’s List award recipient, and he has earned four essential industry-related certifications. He serves as the treasurer of the Associated General Contractors student chapter and is a member of the Design-Build Institute of America student chapter as well as an associate member of the Construction Management Association of America.

Rawlins Award recipeient, Marissa Davini

Marisa Davini is a senior pursuing her bachelor of science degree in civil engineering, with an emphasis on transportation engineering; she also will receive a double minor in business administration and sustainability, with honors in general education. 

The award—one of the largest and most prestigious at Chico State—celebrates scholarship, extracurricular activities, and outstanding academic and professional accomplishments. Awards are also based on evidence of a student’s sincere intent to complete their education, to increase their personal knowledge, and to achieve success in every aspect of life.

The Rawlins merit scholarships are named in honor of Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins, who died piloting a B-29 bomber over Tokyo Bay during World War II. Wishing to leave a legacy in the name of her son, Fern Rawlins established the Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins Merit Award endowment in 1981.

Since the program’s inception, more than $1 million in scholarships has been awarded to more than 800 deserving CSU, Chico students.

Click here to read more about Mitchell, Marisa and the rest of the award winners.