FAFSA School Code: 001146

Award Guide

AWARD GUIDE 2017-18 (pdf)
Understand your
financial aid award,
eligibility and

Middle Class Scholarship

The Middle Class Scholarship (MCS) provides a scholarship to eligible undergraduate and credential students with family income up to $156,000. 2017-18 Middle Class Scholarships will be awarded in October.

CSU, Chico students must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a California resident

  • Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident or have AB 540 student status

  • Meet income and need based requirements

  • Must be enrolled in a minimum of 6 units

  • Limited to first undergraduate and teaching credential programs

  • Maintain satisfactory academic progress

  • Not be in default on a student loan

  • Must not be incarcerated.

Complete a 2017-18 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online or the California Dream Act Application. Use the California Dream Act Application only if you do not have a Social Security Number (SSN) or if you have a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) number.  


  • For the 2017-18 award year, students may be eligible for a scholarship of up to 40% of the system-wide state tuition fee if your family earns up to $104,001 per year.  Students whose parents earn between $104,001 and $156,000 per year may be eligible for a reduced Middle Class Scholarship.

  • Students whose parents earn between $104,002 and $156,000 per year may be eligible for a reduced scholarship.

  • Middle Class Scholarships are not set amounts and may vary by student.  The award eligibility is determined after you are awarded any federal Pell Grant, Cal Grant, State University Grant, Vocational Rehabilitation Benefits, Veterans fee payments, institutional need-based grants, institutional scholarships, and/or fee waivers for which you are eligible. The MCS is based on the state tuition fee amount and is contingent upon the number of students eligible for the MCS statewide and the funding allocated by the State Budget.

  • If you are selected to receive a MCS, you will be notified by the California Student Aid Commission.

For additional information about this scholarship access the California Student Aid Commission’s website or contact the California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) at 888-224-7268. WebGrants 4 Students (WGS) is your portal for the Middle Class Scholarship award. The California Student Aid Commission contacts students via email so it is critical that you keep this information current on your WGS account.