COVID-19

View the latest updates on the COVID-19 News & Information website.
Graduate Studies

Office of Graduate Studies

Temporary Virtual Services

The physical office for the Office of Graduate Studies is closed until further notice. However, we will be delivering services via email and online meetings. Scroll down on this page for staff contact information.

Significant Changes in Response to COVID-19:

  • If necessary students may reapply to graduate in summer or fall; we will waive all refile for graduation fees for summer and fall 2020 for any spring 2020 candidates not able to finish ($8.00 fee, and $10.00 late fee if applicable).
  • The Office of Graduate Studies will accept faculty approvals for Final Progress Sheets and Graduate Clearance Forms via an email chain. Students who have yet to complete the Grad Clearance Form, should fill out all information except grades and forward it to their Graduate Coordinator, who can forward it to the Committee Chair, who can forward it to the next Committee Member and so on. (Grades are considered level 2 data, and are not able to be handled in this manner.) Once the email chain contains all faculty signatures it can be sent to graduatestudies@csuchico.edu.
  • Students may submit a thesis/project draft via email to the thesis editor (cmedley@csuchico.edu) for preliminary edits. Students may also email the thesis editor to request a virtual meeting regarding preliminary edits or writing assistance. 
  • For this semester we will not be requiring “wet” signatures for the thesis/project title pages. However, the Committee Chair must email the thesis editor with notification that the student has passed, passed with revisions, or not passed. 
  • Chico State's Commencement ceremonies were held virtually on Friday, May 15.
    Master's graduates, friends, and family may click here to view the ceremony whenever it is convenient as it will remain posted for one year.
  • We are still accepting applications for scholarships and fellowships. 

We're here to help.

Although our physical office will close until further notice, all grad staff are on duty and available to assist students via email or, with planning, by phone or virtual meeting.

Contact the graduate staff below via email.

Admissions Coordinators
Micah Lehner (last names beginning with A–H) – mlehner@csuchico.edu 
Jean Arnold (last names beginning with I–Z) – jmarnold@csuchico.edu 
Graduate Evaluators
Rosanne Kenoyer (last names beginning with N–Z) – rkenoyer@csuchico.edu 
Sarah Lehner (last names beginning with A–M) – slehner@csuchico.edu
Thesis/Project Advisor and Editor
Carson Medley – cmedley@csuchico.edu
Student Research Competition
Rosemary White, Admin. Support Coordinator rwhite@csuchico.edu
Non-Resident Fee Waivers
Carrie Adsit, Administrative Support Assistant cadsit@csuchico.edu 
Administration
Sharon Barrios, Interim Dean – sbarrios@csuchico.edu

Please check for updates on this and other issues on the campus COVID-19 information website:
https://www.csuchico.edu/coronavirus/

Fall 2020 Graduate School Admissions

The Office of Graduate Studies will accept applications from eligible graduate, credential and certificate applicants beginning October 1, 2019 for fall 2020 admissions.  Please review our list of Programs and Coordinators for an overview of the admission requirements.  The application deadlines vary by program.  Carefully review our list of Important Dates & Deadlines to ensure all application material is submitted accordingly.

Applicants must apply on-line at www.calstate.edu/apply.  Application and admission questions should be directed to the Office of Graduate Studies at 530-898-6880 or via email at graduatestudies@csuchico.edu. 

Application deadlines may vary for International applicants.  All admission and application questions should be directed to International Student Services at 530-898-5415 or email iss@csuchico.edu.

More information about admissions to our Graduate Studies...


Office of Graduate Studies Mission

The mission of the Office of Graduate Studies is to provide effective advocacy and high quality support services for graduate students, faculty, and programs that advance a culture of academic excellence that embraces inclusion and diversity to prepare ethical, broadminded, critical and innovative thinkers who have the knowledge, skills, and abilities to be leaders in their fields and to make significant contributions locally, regionally, and globally.